Author Topic: GDI Vertical blank and vertical retrace test  (Read 64 times)

Siekmanski

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1324
GDI Vertical blank and vertical retrace test
« on: April 16, 2018, 11:04:05 AM »
I managed to get access to the video card rasterizer, hope it works on other cards too.
Next step is to implement a nanotimer interrupt and sync it with the monitor refresh rate and vertical blank so we can blit the backbuffer to the frontbuffer inside the vertical blank period. ( prevent tearing )

Made a small test proggy to see if it gets data back from the video rasterizer.
Simple test with (Sleep,20) as timer used here, thus no synchronization yet.
Have to learn more about GDI also.

Can you guys give me some feedback if the rasterizer gives data back to the screen?
Does the "Inside Vertical Blank" flip to 1 now and then and is the "ScanLine number" running?

Lonewolff

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 193
Re: GDI Vertical blank and vertical retrace test
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2018, 11:10:32 AM »
Arrgh! Another one.



Do you UPX your exe's also?

Siekmanski

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1324
Re: GDI Vertical blank and vertical retrace test
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2018, 11:13:06 AM »
No, didn't use a resource.  :biggrin: but it's safe  :t

Lonewolff

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 193
Re: GDI Vertical blank and vertical retrace test
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2018, 11:14:03 AM »
No, didn't use a resource.  :biggrin: but it's safe  :t

This is what it shows for me



Lonewolff

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 193
Re: GDI Vertical blank and vertical retrace test
« Reply #4 on: April 16, 2018, 11:17:06 AM »
On a side note, I wonder if you built using the latest libs whether you'd bypass the virus flagging issue.

I used to build all my programs with VS2003 until a few years back. But people were reporting false positives. After I switched to a newer version of VS the warnings went away, even though I was using the same source code.

Siekmanski

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1324
Re: GDI Vertical blank and vertical retrace test
« Reply #5 on: April 16, 2018, 11:19:18 AM »
No, the Masm32 libs.
Did you see the "Inside Vertical Blank" flip to 1 now and then and is the "ScanLine number" running?

Lonewolff

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 193
Re: GDI Vertical blank and vertical retrace test
« Reply #6 on: April 16, 2018, 11:34:26 AM »
Yeah scanline number is incrementing rapidly.

Not catching any change with the vertical blank number. Maybe it's happening too quick to see?

Siekmanski

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1324
Re: GDI Vertical blank and vertical retrace test
« Reply #7 on: April 16, 2018, 11:36:16 AM »
Yes I think so, will see.

LordAdef

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 490
Re: GDI Vertical blank and vertical retrace test
« Reply #8 on: April 16, 2018, 12:46:25 PM »
Hi Marinus,

Scan lines seem to run up to 9.??? (too fast to know)
Eventually, there is a flicker in the letters, and occasionally Inside Vert blank flips into 1, but very briefly and then returns to 0

Siekmanski

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1324
Re: GDI Vertical blank and vertical retrace test
« Reply #9 on: April 16, 2018, 06:54:17 PM »
Thanks guys.