Author Topic: Debugging with RADASM  (Read 4513 times)

HSE

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 522
  • <AMD>< 7-32>
Re: Debugging with RADASM
« Reply #15 on: December 21, 2015, 01:37:46 PM »
Grincheaux:

I'm also using JWAsm (v2.13). Not very often, I use OllyDbg for debugging small programs (not RadAsm debugger). Perhaps I have a bad RadAsm configuration, but I think there is some misanderstanding between compiler and debugger (Japhet say JWAsm and JWlink was thinked for Open Watcom Debugger).
My debug result in RadAsm is:
Code: [Select]
DbgHelp.dll version 6.1.7601.17514 (win7sp1_rtm.101119-1850)
No debug info found. Use the /Zd, /Zi and /DEBUG command line options.

RagDog:

 What compiler are you using?


   

Grincheux

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 328
  • Never be pleased, Always improve
    • Asm for fun
Re: Debugging with RADASM
« Reply #16 on: December 21, 2015, 02:45:36 PM »
When running the debugger program to debug does not do what they are for. Trying to run the program after the debug session gives bad results, I have to exit RadAsm and to launch it

It is not the main goal of RadAsm.
Its real job is to edit files, and it does this very well.


Kenavo (Bye)
----------------------
Asm for Fun
My Links
"La garde meurt mais ne rend pas"
Cambronne à Waterloo

ragdog

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 515
Re: Debugging with RADASM
« Reply #17 on: December 21, 2015, 05:07:08 PM »
Quote
RagDog:

 What compiler are you using?

It works with Masm and Jwasm very nice
You ust make a debug build /ZI /ZD

1 Build your project in Debug build (Radasm toolbar change Combobox Release/Debug)
2. set a Breakpoint on any Line in the source
3. run the debugger Debug>>Run

Now break Radasm on this line and you can trace it Step into or Over..

A other option is Load your exe in Ollydbg go on Menu View source files select your asm file and you can to trace your source code in Olly.

Regards,

TWell

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 748
Re: Debugging with RADASM
« Reply #18 on: December 21, 2015, 06:11:12 PM »
Modified/created special ini-file for JWasm + MS link may help.
Code: [Select]
...
[Make]
...
Make=rc,jwasm,link,lib
...

HSE

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 522
  • <AMD>< 7-32>
Re: Debugging with RADASM
« Reply #19 on: December 21, 2015, 10:51:23 PM »
Ragdog:
You are absolutely right: work fine with JWAsm v2.11

Thanks Tim! Your configuration is similar to my configuration, but I realize that I'm using JWAsm13 (is v2.13).

With v2.13 the debug building generate the output:
Code: [Select]
pr3.obj : error : Internal error during Pass2

  ExceptionCode            = C0000005
  ExceptionFlags           = 00000000
  ExceptionAddress         = 65B01DA0
  NumberParameters         = 00000002
  ExceptionInformation[ 0] = 00000000
  ExceptionInformation[ 1] = 362935A9

CONTEXT:
  Eax    = 362935A1  Esp    = 0012F054
  Ebx    = 00000204  Ebp    = 0012F0B0
  Ecx    = 00000E00  Esi    = 0012F070
  Edx    = 0035D828  Edi    = 00000002
  Eip    = 65B01DA0  EFlags = 00010202
  SegCs  = 0000001B  SegDs  = 00000023
  SegSs  = 00000023  SegEs  = 00000023
  SegFs  = 0000003B  SegGs  = 00000000
  Dr0    = 0012F054  Dr3    = 00000204
  Dr1    = 0012F0B0  Dr6    = 00000E00
  Dr2    = 00000000  Dr7    = 00000000

Some "improvement" in JWAsm13 don't work well for debugging (at least in console programs).

jj2007

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7460
  • Assembler is fun ;-)
    • MasmBasic
Re: Debugging with RADASM
« Reply #20 on: December 21, 2015, 11:31:26 PM »
You are absolutely right: work fine with JWAsm v2.11

Congrats :t

ragdog

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 515
Re: Debugging with RADASM
« Reply #21 on: December 22, 2015, 04:52:46 PM »
Quote
Modified/created special ini-file for JWasm + MS link may help.
Code: [Select]

...
[Make]
...
Make=rc,jwasm,link,lib
...

You dont need change the ini.

Radasm has a Jwasm config (Jwasm.ini)

Or other way use Jwasm is Jochen´s solution

Rename in the Masm bin package ml.exe > ml_.exe and copy Jwasm.exe in this folder and rename it to ml.exe. :t

HSE

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 522
  • <AMD>< 7-32>
Re: Debugging with RADASM
« Reply #22 on: December 23, 2015, 01:08:06 AM »
Oops! JWasm v2.13 also work fine!

Apparently the linker running in debug mode is detecting an exception (I guess related to my own long lines JWasm "improvement"  to support big SmplMath equations  :biggrin:). No fault at all from RadAsm.