The MASM Forum

Projects => Rarely Used Projects => RadAsm IDE Support => Topic started by: asmcoder on January 17, 2014, 01:34:59 PM

Title: link question & multi modules question
Post by: asmcoder on January 17, 2014, 01:34:59 PM
question 1:
in radasm2,the link option i use    5,O,$B\LINK.EXE /SUBSYSTEM:WINDOWS /DEBUG  /SECTION:.text|EWR /VERSION:4.0 /LIBPATH:"$L" /OUT:"$5",3,4   
the  /SECTION:.text|EWR  works fine , making code area writable.

but in radasm3 , i change the link option to
/SUBSYSTEM:WINDOWS /DEBUG /SECTION:.text|EWR /VERSION:4.0 /OUT:$O $C $M $R
this option will cause a warning:
LINK : warning LNK4039: section ".text|EWR" specified with /SECTION option does not exist
and the code area remain unwritable

question 2:
if a project have multi modules, when compile modules, radasm2  only compile the sources which are modified while radasm3 compile all.
this made radasm3 very slow if the project contains many large modules.
maybe because radasm2 have some addins.
Title: Re: link question & multi modules question
Post by: dedndave on January 17, 2014, 02:07:11 PM
don't know about question 2

for question 1, try...
/SECTION:.text,EWR
Title: Re: link question & multi modules question
Post by: asmcoder on January 17, 2014, 06:13:27 PM
thanks dedndave,
question 1 solved. :t

now have question 3:
i compiled all modules with "/c /coff /Cp /Zi " and Windows Debug build
when i run(shift + f7) it, a lot of symbols not found and costs dozens of seconds.
(http://bwpkb.img38.wal8.com/img38/397073_20131226203745/138994224479.jpg)

then i debug it with olly, found that the symbols radasm3 can't recognise are almost  ascii or unicode texts
(http://bwpkb.img38.wal8.com/img38/397073_20131226203745/138994264977.jpg)
Title: Re: link question & multi modules question
Post by: ragdog on January 18, 2014, 04:32:43 AM
Quotequestion 2:
if a project have multi modules, when compile modules, radasm2  only compile the sources which are modified while radasm3 compile all.
this made radasm3 very slow if the project contains many large modules.
maybe because radasm2 have some addins.

Lol i have last thought the same

The best way is a make a fuction like visual studio a Workspace to compile all projects

example

*.prs ( Workspace )

Project: "Tool1"="..\Tool1\Tool1.asm" - Package Owner=<4>
Project: "Tool2"="..\Tool2\Tool2.asm" - Package Owner=<4>
Project: "Tool3"="..\Tool3\Tool3.asm" - Package Owner=<4>

@KetilO

Can yo add this function in Radasm3?

it would be really great