The MASM Forum

Projects => MASM32 => Topic started by: sinsi on January 16, 2018, 05:31:54 PM

Title: QE Run Program
Post by: sinsi on January 16, 2018, 05:31:54 PM
How does QE run the program? I see in menus.ini the command, but does it use CreateProcess or ShellExecute?
If I try to run an elevated program it just fails, no error or anything, which sounds like CreateProcess, whereas ShellExecute will show the elevation dialog.
Title: Re: QE Run Program
Post by: felipe on January 17, 2018, 05:07:01 AM
Maybe it's using an old trick and executing the program through a cmd command? :idea:
I have tried winexec in win 8.1 and works just fine.  :bgrin:
Title: Re: QE Run Program
Post by: russellgreen on April 21, 2018, 03:40:53 PM
Why doesn't the editor have a "compile and Run" feature, to test what is written so far?

Other Ides have that functionality. Its a simple matter afaik to compile a temp file then execute it programatically .. then delete it when done.

What I had in mind is a one button operation.


Russell
Title: Re: QE Run Program
Post by: Siekmanski on April 21, 2018, 03:50:06 PM
Because there is nothing to compile.....  :biggrin:
Title: Re: QE Run Program
Post by: russellgreen on April 21, 2018, 04:04:06 PM
Quote from: Siekmanski on April 21, 2018, 03:50:06 PM
Because there is nothing to compile.....  :biggrin:


okay, assebmble link then run...   :P

thats what I meant.


Russell




Title: Re: QE Run Program
Post by: Siekmanski on April 21, 2018, 04:26:00 PM
Welcome to the forum.  :t
Title: Re: QE Run Program
Post by: russellgreen on April 21, 2018, 04:40:55 PM
Quote from: Siekmanski on April 21, 2018, 04:26:00 PM
Welcome to the forum.  :t

Thanks man!


Russell




Title: Re: QE Run Program
Post by: hutch-- on April 21, 2018, 05:24:00 PM
Russell,

Its done that way so you can have a look at the assemble results, assemble and link builds the exe/dll, then see if it runs IF the build works.
Title: Re: QE Run Program
Post by: jj2007 on April 21, 2018, 05:33:43 PM
RichMasm has that functionality (http://masm32.com/board/index.php?topic=5314.0) - just hit F6, and the current source text gets assembled (even if it's not saved yet). It also autodetects if your application is subsystem console or Windows, and adds resources if [mysource].rc is present etc etc.
Title: Re: QE Run Program
Post by: russellgreen on April 21, 2018, 05:43:38 PM
Quote from: jj2007 on April 21, 2018, 05:33:43 PM
RichMasm has that functionality...

Thanks for the :spam: but no thank you. We were discussing the functons of QE, and not looking for a replacement. Have a good day, sir.   :eusa_naughty:

Russell
Title: Re: QE Run Program
Post by: jj2007 on April 21, 2018, 05:44:46 PM
Congrats, as a new member you have an excellent start :t
Title: Re: QE Run Program
Post by: russellgreen on April 21, 2018, 05:56:25 PM
Quote from: jj2007 on April 21, 2018, 05:44:46 PM
Congrats, as a new member you have an excellent start :t

Yeah, I get that a lot. Congrats go to you Jochen, MasmBasic and RichMasm have come a long way, and you seem to have a loyal following. But you have to consider that not all will be enamored by it. Just a matter of personal taste.


Russell   8)
Title: Re: QE Run Program
Post by: felipe on April 22, 2018, 10:30:31 AM
Hey russell, what's your experience as programmer? Why you want assembly?
Title: Re: QE Run Program
Post by: hutch-- on April 22, 2018, 02:31:14 PM
Sinsi,

Normal RUN program is "WinExec()", I like it for its ease of use.