The MASM Forum

Projects => Rarely Used Projects => GoAsm => Topic started by: shankle on June 03, 2019, 07:16:36 AM

Title: No Sound in Windows 7 pro 64-bit
Post by: shankle on June 03, 2019, 07:16:36 AM
I have been playing around with different browsers because i feel that
Google is invasive, In doing so i have lost all Sound.
I was thinking of going back to the 1st of may with Macrium reflect
and I can't get the restore to work. So I have no backup :sad:
It is needlessly complicated to do a restore with.
So I have uninstalled all browsers but Google chrome.
Mini Tool has a backup program that I think I will try or
again try Clonezille-live.
Possibly Mickysoft is playing games by slightly squishing Windows 7
a little bit at a time. I hate the thoughts of Windows 10!!!!!!

Title: Re: No Sound in Windows 7 pro 64-bit
Post by: hutch-- on June 03, 2019, 01:18:59 PM
Jack,

While its not possible to diagnose a remote computer, as long as your sound system is up and working, it will only be some setting in Win7 that is stopping it from being heard. In order, check the sound system to make sure everything is plugged in and working then go into the control panel and check your settings to make sure something has not been turned off. Also check your volume level as some app may have turned it right down and you just can't hear it.
Title: Re: No Sound in Windows 7 pro 64-bit
Post by: sinsi on June 03, 2019, 03:29:36 PM
Open device manager and get the properties of your sound device.
If the Roll Back Driver button is enabled, try rolling back.
If it isn't, uninstall the device (NOT the driver software as well) and reboot.
If that doesn't fix it uninstall both the device and driver.

There was a problem with certain laptops (HP?) that lost sound after a Windows update just recently.
Title: Re: No Sound in Windows 7 pro 64-bit
Post by: shankle on June 04, 2019, 06:34:31 AM
Thanks guys for helping.
I uninstalled the audio & drivers as per Sinis instruction
and see no difference.
I went through the Google settings and checked the whole
thing and see no difference.
I uninstalled "Wise Disk Cleaner" and reinstalled it - no difference.
When I run this program "trop forts!!!.mp4" I get a small red 
X in the volume icon when the program is running and no
sound. I am unable to tell what program is executing "trop
forts!!!.mp4". Is it possible that it might be some conversion
program that handles "mp4" files???
Title: Re: No Sound in Windows 7 pro 64-bit
Post by: shankle on June 04, 2019, 12:23:45 PM
             6-3-2019
First I will do nothing until I have your opinions
of this message to see what you think.         
         
I did not know that Google Chrome contained its own
version of Adobe Flash Player. So I tried to load
a version compatible with Windows 7. This god knows
caused some problems with Google Chrome along with
my experiments with other browsers. I have deleted
these versions of Adobe Flash Player and the various
browsers but GC is still acting up. The setting
changes I have made in GC to solve the problem are
not working.
SO - to fix it I am going to make detailed listings of
the URLs and print them. Then I am going to delete GC
from the computer. Next install the latest version of
GC for Windows 7 pro 64-bit.
I hope that solves the problem for me.
I know of a very high bridge in New Jersey USA......
            
Title: Re: No Sound in Windows 7 pro 64-bit
Post by: sinsi on June 04, 2019, 04:27:13 PM
Try reinstalling Flash for Chrome first
Quote
Step 4: Reinstall Flash
Make sure that you only install Flash from Adobe's website.
On your computer, open Chrome.
Go to adobe.com/go/chrome.
Under "Step 1," select your computer's operating system.
Under "Step 2," choose the option that lists "PPAPI."
Click Download now, and follow the steps to install Flash.

If you have a Google account you can turn sync on, this will save your bookmarks/history etc.
If you reinstall Chrome, sync again to get them back.

Title: Re: No Sound in Windows 7 pro 64-bit
Post by: Vortex on June 04, 2019, 06:25:44 PM
Hi shanke,

Obtaining Flash Player for Internet Explorer, Chromium based browsers, Opera and Firefox :

https://michaelspice.net/windows/windows-software/
Title: Re: No Sound in Windows 7 pro 64-bit
Post by: shankle on June 06, 2019, 08:03:45 AM
Thanks guys for helping.
As much as I hated to, I took my computer to the shop to have the
dreadful Windows 10 installed. I'll be 6 months to a year getting
used to it, I'm to old for this nonsense :sad:
Title: Re: No Sound in Windows 7 pro 64-bit
Post by: hutch-- on June 06, 2019, 04:45:06 PM
Jack,

Let us know when you get your computer back with Win10 installed on it. With a few toys and some patience you can turn most of the chyte off and block most of the spyware (telemetry). For what its worth, Win10 is generally a better performer than Win7 but its full of tricks to try and force you to use the default settings and it is usually updated every day which is a pest.
Title: Re: No Sound in Windows 7 pro 64-bit
Post by: zedd151 on June 07, 2019, 06:40:27 AM

.... I took my computer to the shop to have the
dreadful Windows 10 installed....
Huge mistake, imo.


Quote
I'll be 6 months to a year getting
used to it...
I'll bet that you revert back to Win 7 before that time. I had been there and done all of that and only use Windows 10 from a usb, a la
"Windows To Go". and boot it from the usb. Otherwise am very happily still running Windows 7 for most of my work.  :)
Title: Re: No Sound in Windows 7 pro 64-bit
Post by: shankle on June 12, 2019, 09:08:46 PM
Got the sound problem fixed. Not the computer, not the speakers but the electric
transformer. Yuk.

I agree zedd but I'm tired of fighting big Microsoft......
I disabled Edge & Cortana. Afraid to uninstall them!
But Edge is still showing it's ugly head. When I run
Wise Disk Cleaner, Edge is showing hundreds of items
being deleted?
At present I am using the hog Google Chrome.
When I become more accustomed with 10, I'll be
looking for a less invasive Browser.
Would appreciate any tips for making 10 more like 7.
At startup I would like to use my startup page & not
10's.
Microsoft treats my computer as their advertising paradise.
Folks it's my computer paid for by me.
What AD blocker do you use?
Thanks for helping.