Author Topic: Instruction Set Detection  (Read 1204 times)

FORTRANS

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1165
Re: Instruction Set Detection
« Reply #30 on: May 19, 2022, 04:34:44 AM »
Hi Gunther,

   I finally got FTP working in Virtual Box, The final pitfall was
fixed by enabling the "Bridged Adapter" setting in the "Network
Settings".  As mentioned in the link you posted.  Well, at least
fixed enough to get some communication going.

   So, here is your program's report running with an eCS (OS/2)
VDM in an Oracle VirtualBox running under Windows 8.1.

Detection Results
=================

CPU Strings
-----------

Processor Vendor String: GenuineIntel
Processor Brand String:  Intel(R)Core(TM)i3-4005UCPU@1.70GHz             

Supported Instruction Sets
--------------------------

MMX  SSE  SSE2  SSE3  SSSE3  SSE4.1  SSE4.2


Please, press any key to end the application ...


Regards,

Steve N.

Gunther

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4051
  • Forgive your enemies, but never forget their names
Re: Instruction Set Detection
« Reply #31 on: May 19, 2022, 09:10:13 AM »
Steve,

   So, here is your program's report running with an eCS (OS/2)
VDM in an Oracle VirtualBox running under Windows 8.1.

Thank you for your effort.  :thumbsup:

From time to time the FreeDOS FTP server changes the address. You have to change this in the settings of the client as well. That' s a small drawback.
Otherwise, the data exchange via FTP works very well and stable.
Get your facts first, and then you can distort them.

FORTRANS

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1165
Re: Instruction Set Detection
« Reply #32 on: May 20, 2022, 12:12:55 AM »
Hi,

   I did not use FreeDOS at all.  Just the instructions on the web
page you pointed out.  (As far as I was able to.)  I used the OS/2
server and client for the final transfers.  And I used the Windows
clients to try to debug the situation.  But I will assume that any
server will act as you say the FreeDOS server does and keep note
of its address.

   I used FTP on the job long ago before I retired.  But mostly forgot
anything useful over the years.  It does seem to work well.  And well
enough to start trying to use VirtualBox in earnest.

Thanks,

Steve

Gunther

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4051
  • Forgive your enemies, but never forget their names
Re: Instruction Set Detection
« Reply #33 on: May 20, 2022, 01:06:17 AM »
Steve,

I used the OS/2 server and client for the final transfers.

interesting approach. But it works and that's the point.

   I used FTP on the job long ago before I retired.  But mostly forgot
anything useful over the years.  It does seem to work well.  And well
enough to start trying to use VirtualBox in earnest.

Yes, I see. A virtual machine with FreeDOS is still worth a try. It's stable and solid. An interesting Expanded Memory Manager JEMM for FreeDOS has been written by Japheth, for example.
Get your facts first, and then you can distort them.

HSE

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2088
  • AMD 7-32 / i3 10-64
Re: Instruction Set Detection
« Reply #34 on: May 22, 2022, 12:35:50 AM »
Gunther,

interruptions no longer exist in UEFI systems.

I found some interesting pieces of information about this. You can have a CSM-BIOS (that support Legacy BIOS) but CSM is disabled if you have an Intel integrated graphic processor, because that card requiere UEFI.

Apparently plugging an old dedicated video card, and disabling the internal one, allow to use Legacy BIOS. But video cards are things of gamers...  :biggrin:     
Equations in Assembly: SmplMath

Gunther

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4051
  • Forgive your enemies, but never forget their names
Re: Instruction Set Detection
« Reply #35 on: May 22, 2022, 01:33:46 AM »
HSE,

I found some interesting pieces of information about this. You can have a CSM-BIOS (that support Legacy BIOS) but CSM is disabled if you have an Intel integrated graphic processor, because that card requiere UEFI.

fortunately, my computer has a NVIDIA GeForce Experience built-in.

Apparently plugging an old dedicated video card, and disabling the internal one, allow to use Legacy BIOS. But video cards are things of gamers...  :biggrin:     

That could be a way. Thank you for the information.  :thumbsup:
Get your facts first, and then you can distort them.