Masm32 SDK description, downloads and other helpful links
Message to All Guests

Main Menu

Hello from an absolute beginner

Started by brazer, January 15, 2023, 04:40:09 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

brazer

Hello community,

I have some questions but since this is my first post let me first introduce my self to show I'm not looking for trouble.

I'm not new to programming, my background is C++ and PowerShell which are two languages I'm proficient with and have written several working projects so far,
however I don't publicly share any of my projects except only one which you can find in my signature below if you whish to see.

Other major projects I work on include GUI framework and various utility libraries which I personally use to write new stuff, however the reason why I don't share them is
either due to incompatible licenses or because I wish to keep certain stuff for myself.

However when it comes to ASM I'm a new born, so far I've managed to set up a comfortable dev environment and getting some books to help in studying assembly.
The reason why I decided to learn assembly is because so far I have many times stumbled upon various scenarios that require knowing assembly and then I felt bad
for not understanding code or how to do this or that...

I wanted to start learning with nasm assembler because of nicer syntax but due to lack of modern books for X86-64 on Windows I'm it seems forced to use ml64 to make learning
as fast as possible, even though I dislike the syntax of MS assembler.

Here is my starting question!
I see ml64 is Microsoft assembler and what really confuses me is the MASM32 project on this site, I see there is MASM SDK that is presumably open source?
I quickly skimmed trough wikipedia site HERE and it doesn't seem to say that MS's ml64 is open source.

So I wonder how is the ml64 that is distributed with Windows SDK different from MASM SDK published on this site?