News:

Masm32 SDK description, downloads and other helpful links
Message to All Guests

Main Menu

Triggering code from sound input: how to?

Started by dicky96, January 07, 2013, 02:52:06 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

dicky96

Hi Guys

OK A quick bit about me so you know where I am coming from on this   :icon_cool:

I'm actually an electronics engineer from the 80s and 90s who worked on everything from TV and VCR to Computers and Industrial Electronics.  I did my City & Guilds in TV Video and Electronic servicing and my HNC (kinda like a University degree level in the old days when we had 'Polytechnic Colleges') in Microprocessor System Design and Programming - and I got distinctions throughout  :dazzled:

So I've got a good understanding of analog and digital electronics, and microprocessor systems.  I also have worked as a programmer, but as I am an electronics engineer at heart I tend to work 'backward' to most folks way of thinking, the higher the level of code the less I can figure out what the hell is going on! lol

So enough about me.

My current project is a frivolous one but something I have wanted to do for some years - so ready for next winter I am designing and building a computerised system to control outdoor xmas lights.  It's all for fun really

The questions I want to ask are about the general methods to create such as system, and what is the best approach... but read on and I'll tell you how far I got first

Yeah OK I know most folks who attempt this use professional DMX lighting controllers, but I'm an engineer so.....

A few years ago I got some old dis-used LED 'Moving Sign' displays - you know the ones that have the moving writing in shops and banks etc before we had flat screens everywhere.  I picked up three of these from a Radeio and Electronics fair for a good enough price.  I was gonna sell them on but never did anything with them as I couldnt find any info on how to interface them