Masm32 SDK description, downloads and other helpful links
Message to All Guests

Main Menu

Help for the very beginner

Started by Nowhereboy33, September 28, 2013, 04:17:45 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Nowhereboy33

Welcome,

I am Jakub and I am 18 years old. I also study at Heriot Watt University in Scotland, which is not my homeland - I come from Poland. Please forgive me all spelling mistakes and being unclear as I am hardly a year in foreign, English country. As I am studying Electronics&Electrics Engineering I would like to learn to use Assembler programming language x64.

Problem is - I do not have idea about programming at all. I do know about computers (as much as decent gamer should know), but nothing on programming itself. I wanted to ask You, MASM forum users to help me. I need basics guides from te very beginning including how to install the environments I work with.

I would like to stick to MASM and Visual Studio 2010 ( as far as I know it allows to use it). I am just overwhelmed by the ammount of information about Assembler itself. I also cannot find any newer guides for beginners - only outdated ones. It also happens I am using win 8, which does not support all 16 bit instructions ? I struggled a lot to follow an guide as always some errors were popping out. I've already tried FASM (enjoyed most), TASM and NASM (couldn't work it out straight from package, so I moved on) and finally MASM seems a choice. But I already know I will need help with that. So could You please post any links to actual guides on Assembler language in MASM (Visual Studio) ??

qWord

MASM and x86-64 ... a hard choice for an absolute beginner - you might first get into programming by learning a high level programming language like C (I would suggest you to ask your classmates or docent what language to learn first!).
MREAL macros - when you need floating point arithmetic while assembling!

dedndave

it is a tough choice - lol
but, i would suggest 32-bit assembler