Author Topic: Cant compile on Win7  (Read 6970 times)

Farabi

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 969
  • Neuroscience Fans
Cant compile on Win7
« on: January 08, 2014, 02:05:21 PM »
Im installing MASM SDK 11 on win 7 but it doesnot worked, the read operation is failed. I used a prebuilt version from another computer and when compiling it the linker is stopped working when it tried to link it. Any solution for this? Anyone tried this before? Ive setted the winxp compatibility mode and change to administrator setting so it run as administrator permision but it still doesnot worked.
http://farabidatacenter.url.ph/MySoftware/
My 3D Game Engine Demo.

Contact me at Whatsapp: 6283818314165

hutch--

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 7837
  • Mnemonic Driven API Grinder
    • The MASM32 SDK
Re: Cant compile on Win7
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2014, 03:53:09 PM »
Onan,

It reduces to OS settings and/or an AV scanner that interferes with the disk read or write.
hutch at movsd dot com
http://www.masm32.com    :biggrin:  :skrewy:

Farabi

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 969
  • Neuroscience Fans
Re: Cant compile on Win7
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2014, 06:18:34 PM »
Onan,

It reduces to OS settings and/or an AV scanner that interferes with the disk read or write.
Im new to win7 where does the OS settings?
http://farabidatacenter.url.ph/MySoftware/
My 3D Game Engine Demo.

Contact me at Whatsapp: 6283818314165

ragdog

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 610
Re: Cant compile on Win7
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2014, 06:36:18 PM »
Hi

I work long time on win7 with Masm32 and it works fine

by installing Masm32 disable all you Av or anything or allowed

dedndave

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8829
  • Still using Abacus 2.0
    • DednDave
Re: Cant compile on Win7
« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2014, 09:53:27 PM »
the easy was is to install it on XP and copy the files over to the win7 machine   :P

Farabi

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 969
  • Neuroscience Fans
Re: Cant compile on Win7
« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2014, 11:15:17 PM »
the easy was is to install it on XP and copy the files over to the win7 machine   :P
i did but the link.exe stoped working in the middle of process. is it the laptop driver or the setting? im blind at win7 and too old to find out.
http://farabidatacenter.url.ph/MySoftware/
My 3D Game Engine Demo.

Contact me at Whatsapp: 6283818314165

sinsi

  • Guest
Re: Cant compile on Win7
« Reply #6 on: January 08, 2014, 11:21:29 PM »
i did but the link.exe stoped working in the middle of process. is it the laptop driver or the setting? im blind at win7 and too old to find out.
Stopped working, what did it do?
 - freeze and hang
 - crash with an error
 - crash Windows

Farabi

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 969
  • Neuroscience Fans
Re: Cant compile on Win7
« Reply #7 on: January 08, 2014, 11:53:01 PM »
i did but the link.exe stoped working in the middle of process. is it the laptop driver or the setting? im blind at win7 and too old to find out.
Stopped working, what did it do?
 - freeze and hang
 - crash with an error
 - crash Windows

It freeze and hang seems windows did not allowing it to read or write any files. Seems I need to go back to xp.
http://farabidatacenter.url.ph/MySoftware/
My 3D Game Engine Demo.

Contact me at Whatsapp: 6283818314165

sinsi

  • Guest
Re: Cant compile on Win7
« Reply #8 on: January 09, 2014, 12:03:26 AM »
Does it freeze if you just type "link" into a console window?

Farabi

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 969
  • Neuroscience Fans
Re: Cant compile on Win7
« Reply #9 on: January 09, 2014, 12:07:19 AM »
Does it freeze if you just type "link" into a console window?
No it doesnot. Suddenly it worked now I dont know how. But i used polink instead and it cimpiled fine.
http://farabidatacenter.url.ph/MySoftware/
My 3D Game Engine Demo.

Contact me at Whatsapp: 6283818314165

dedndave

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8829
  • Still using Abacus 2.0
    • DednDave
Re: Cant compile on Win7
« Reply #10 on: January 09, 2014, 12:31:55 AM »
you may have to run the batch file "as administrator" or set compatibility mode

Gunther

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3585
  • Forgive your enemies, but never forget their names
Re: Cant compile on Win7
« Reply #11 on: January 09, 2014, 05:12:56 AM »
Farabi,

I've been gone another way. You could download Windows XP Mode and install it under VirtualPC. It simulates a XP under Windows 7 and the MASM installation works fine.

Gunther
Get your facts first, and then you can distort them.

vogelsang

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 64
Re: Cant compile on Win7
« Reply #12 on: January 12, 2014, 08:08:00 AM »
I got installed masm v10 on Windows 7 Ultimate and it work fine. Maybe you should try older version.
"How beautiful this world ruled by dibs, not a gun!"
...