Masm32 SDK description, downloads and other helpful links
Message to All Guests

Main Menu

NEW to 32 bit MASM First time Post

Started by ROBOSPOOK, June 01, 2014, 08:08:37 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ROBOSPOOK

GE all,
  New to 32 Bit MASM and the forum.  I have been looking around and I have hopes of contributing some.
ALthought I am new to 32 bit programming I am not a new programmer and have programmed in 16 bit ASM and C.  Most of the programs I have written operate below the operating system and manipulate INT 32 or access a port such as 1F7 and the hard drive buffers. Back then I was writing program that allowed me to do computer forensics and thought it was the neatest thing.. many of the programs were written with Turbo C or Turbo ASM.

As soon as I get the hang of 32bit ASM I will be looking to write asm routines for inline assembly in C++ programs so that I can again access the hardware level with C.. Evidently Microsoft has decided they dont want anyone doing that now.. go figure.

In any even thanks to the forum owner and the admins for their hard work this looks like a super place to learn

ROBOSPOOK

jj2007

Quote from: ROBOSPOOK on June 01, 2014, 08:08:37 AMmanipulate INT 32

Hi robospook,

Welcome to the Forum :icon14:

Are you sure that interrupts work in Win32 userland?

ROBOSPOOK

actually I am not sure about access to interrupts.  I know its not easy in C and probably Basic but I suspect you can access it in ASM as long as you don't invoke any of the windows functions and just use straight ASM... we shall see as I gain experience

and thanks for the reply

dedndave

welcome to the forum   :t

INT 32 ?
you probably meant INT 13h
the software interrupt is a 16-bit DOS mechanism
won't work for win32

if you want to continue working on low-level drive code, you have a few hurdles to overcome
to perform direct hardware I/O, i suspect you'll need some sort of "kernel mode driver"
not sure you really need to do direct I/O, though