News:

Masm32 SDK description, downloads and other helpful links
Message to All Guests

Main Menu

JWasm64 with RadASM

Started by fearless, April 21, 2015, 10:05:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

fearless

So i started playing around with JWasm64 and managed to put together a package that works, and i fudged together a working addin to RadASM to use JWasm. I decided to detail my steps as much as possible so others might be able to recreate this and hopefully make it a bit easier for others to start using 64bit assembly.

Unfortunately i cant distribute the resources (except the RadASM additon for JWasm), but ive tried to list what might be needed, where it can be found and other notes that might be of use.

Software Resources

Not all of the items on the list need to be downloaded, some you might have already installed on your pc like the .net stuff, and others might take up a lot of unwanted space, or are too bloatly or will take forever to download, there is bound to be others ways to achieve the same end result.

JWasm64 Setup

I created a folder structure similar to masm32, at the root of the same drive i have masm32 installed:

\JWasm\bin
\JWasm\help
\JWasm\Include
\JWasm\Lib
\JWasm\Lib\x64

I downloaded JWasm64.zip (get it here), extracted JWasm.exe from JWasm64.zip, renamed it to JWasm64.exe and placed it in \JWasm\bin
Then i downloaded WinInc v2.08 (get it here), extracted contents of Include folder into \JWasm\Include

The next sections deal with the resources needed to compile and link, these were obtained from various folders on my local pc after having installed the Visual Studio 2013 Community Edition (get it here) and the SDKs that come with it.

Resource Compiler

Copy the following files from \Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\8.1\bin\x86\ to \JWasm\bin:

rc.exe
rcdll.dll

Notes: Other versions of the resource compiler files seem to work, including the Masm32 versions located in Masm32\bin.

Resource Converter