News:

Masm32 SDK description, downloads and other helpful links
Message to All Guests

Main Menu

Taking care of the prerequisites to create my first program without VS

Started by RedSkeleton007, February 05, 2016, 06:45:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

RedSkeleton007

I no longer care about using Irvine or Visual Studio. Screw Visual Studio. KILL Visual Studio!

That being said, lets begin :bgrin:

I'm an absolute beginner. My first priority is learning how to properly use basic op-codes. That being said, hutch--, I appreciate your neat print out code here:  https://masm32.com/board/index.php?msg=54890
But it's a little too advanced for me right now. Visual Studio did such a nice job displaying everything by calling Dumpregs, and I was expecting something similar to happen by following dedndave's instruction here:
Quote from: dedndave on February 05, 2016, 06:19:25 AMdowload OllyDbg - as i recall, installation is merely a matter of creating a folder and placing the program in it

you want to make Olly the "default just-in-time" handler
if you open Olly, there is an Options menu
under Debugging, Just-in-time - Set OllyDbg button
it takes care of it for you, and saves previous settings if you want to reverse it

now, any program that generates an exception will cause Olly to pop up
we generally insert
    int     3into the code where we want execution to generate an exception

And I added the int 3 into the MyTest.asm file:

include \masm32\include\masm32rt.inc

.data
MyArray dd 25, 18, 23, 17, 9, 2, 6
HelloW$ db "Hello World", 0

.code
start:
  xor ebx, ebx ; set two non-volatile
  xor esi, esi ; registers to zero
  .Repeat
add esi, MyArray[4*ebx]
inc ebx
  .Until ebx>=lengthof MyArray
  MsgBox 0, cat$(str$(esi), " is the sum"), offset HelloW$, MB_OK

int 3
  exit

end start
But none of Olly's features happened like he promised. Any suggestions?

Fixed link above, originally it opened a "quote" editor window.

GoneFishing

I'd recommend you to use VKDEBUG .