Masm32 SDK description, downloads and other helpful links
Message to All Guests

Main Menu

About Easy Code functionality

Started by Daniel, February 12, 2016, 05:31:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Daniel

Hi All,
I have just a general question. I am a vb6 programmer and I would like to know if Easy Code does allow me to work with other libraries in a COM standard. For example, is it possible to open an excel file, to modify some rows and save it ? Also, it would be useful to me to find out which are the similarities and differences between vb classic and this interesting language developed by Ramon Sala. Thank you in advance.

rsala

Hi Daniel,

Thanks for your kind words about the IDE.

Easy Code was based on VB to make assembly programming easier. The very main difference is that Easy Code works only with assembly programming (supporting various assemblers), so you have to know the assembler language in depth.

Regards,

Ramon

BTW: Easy Code CANNOT open an excel file.
EC coder

HSE

Ramon:
   Believe or not, it's posible and apparently not very dificult (using the work of Biterider, of course).

Daniel:
   You need ObjAsm32 macro system      http://masm32.com/board/index.php?board=43.0
   I don't know how easy is for a Asm beginner.

Regards. HSE

Equations in Assembly: SmplMath

jj2007

xlsConnect is another option; see \masm32\MasmBasic\Res\Masm2Excel.asc for a full example (needs MasmBasic).

@HSE: Can you post a small example? Here is one using xlsConnect:

include \masm32\MasmBasic\MasmBasic.inc      ; download
  Init
  xlsConnect                  ; no args=Excel, System
  .if !Zero?                  ; non-zero means success
      FileWrite "tmp.xls", "Just a test"      ; create a spreadsheet
      xlsCommand "[app.activate()]"           ; optional: activate Excel
      xlsOpen Cat$(CurDir$()+"tmp.xls")
      xlsConnect "tmp"
      .if !Zero?
            xlsWrite "R2C1", Cat$("This sheet was modified on "+Date$+", "+Time$)
      .endif
  .endif