Author Topic: Problem with the Win64_3 sample  (Read 3105 times)

Vortex

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2332
Problem with the Win64_3 sample
« on: September 24, 2016, 06:55:42 AM »
Hi Johnsa and Habran,

I am trying to build the Win64_3 sample supplied with the HJWasm package. If I use JWasm then I get a working executable displaying an empty window. HJWasm assembles the same source code without problem but running the executable built with HJWasm, I get only a blank window without title bar and frame :
Code: [Select]
\HJWasm\JWasm -win64 Win64_3e.asm
\PellesC\bin\polink /SUBSYSTEM:WINDOWS /LIBPATH:\PellesC\lib\Win64 Win64_3e.obj kernel32.lib user32.lib

\HJWasm\HJWasm64 -win64 /FoWin64_3e2.obj Win64_3e.asm
\PellesC\bin\polink /SUBSYSTEM:WINDOWS /LIBPATH:\PellesC\lib\Win64 Win64_3e2.obj kernel32.lib user32.lib

\HJWasm\HJWasm64 -win64 /FoWin64_3e3.obj Win64_3e.asm
\HJWasm\JWlink format win pe runtime windows f Win64_3e3.obj libpath \PellesC\lib\Win64

Using JWlink instead of Polink does not change the result.

Versions :

HJWasm v2.15, Sep 14 2016
JWasm v2.12pre, Nov 27 2013
Pelles Linker, Version 8.00.2
JWlink Version 1.9beta 13

Attached are the project zip file and a screenshot demonstrating the problem. Running Win64_3e2.exe and Win64_3e3.exe , you can see this effect.

habran

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1225
    • uasm
Re: Problem with the Win64_3 sample
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2016, 02:34:26 PM »
Thanks Vortex,
We are aware of the problem and working on it.Will be fixed in day or 2.
Cod-Father

johnsa

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 807
    • Uasm
Re: Problem with the Win64_3 sample
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2016, 10:29:58 AM »
Hi,

We've updated the packages and repositories with version 2.15 r2.
This fixes a number of AVX2 and EVEX coercion issues.
We also cleaned up the pointless "ADD RSP,0" that would sometimes be present since Jwasm.
option win64:1, 3, 11 are all tested and working both with and without option stackbase:rsp
no option win64 has also been tested.
We have dropped support for win64:2.

John

jj2007

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10543
  • Assembler is fun ;-)
    • MasmBasic
Re: Problem with the Win64_3 sample
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2016, 05:46:36 PM »
 :t

Just for clarity: The issue above was fixed, too, right?

Vortex

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2332
Re: Problem with the Win64_3 sample
« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2016, 06:42:46 PM »
Hello Johnsa and Habran,

Thanks for the new version. The problem is fixed. I was able to build and run the executable without issues. :t

habran

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1225
    • uasm
Re: Problem with the Win64_3 sample
« Reply #5 on: September 25, 2016, 06:44:45 PM »
 8)
Cod-Father

johnsa

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 807
    • Uasm
Re: Problem with the Win64_3 sample
« Reply #6 on: September 25, 2016, 07:58:23 PM »
:t

Just for clarity: The issue above was fixed, too, right?

Hi, yes

The missing window frame was happening due to how the stack was setup under win64:3.

John