News:

Masm32 SDK description, downloads and other helpful links
Message to All Guests

Main Menu

horrible experience from testing the image from Macrium Reflect

Started by shankle, October 24, 2016, 01:42:26 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

shankle

Mind, Macrium Reflect is NOT the cause of this problem.

I have 2 SSDs, one with Windows 7  and one with MASM32 on it.
I disconnected the 1st SSd with Windows 7 and cleared the 2nd one that
had Masm32 ot it. I then restored the image from an external HD with the image
I created from Macrium Reflect to the 2nd SSD. This ran fine and I was
able t o boot into Windows 7.
THEN the fun started. I disconnected the 2nd SSD and connected the 1st SSD
with the original Windows 7. It would not boot. So I started playing around with
the awful  ASUS BIOS. I then assumed that the MBR was messed up. So I
decided to try and flash the Bios(BIG Mistake). It just sat there with no progress
bar or anything informing of the progress. I then made my 2nd mistake. I shut
the computer down. The puter is still in the techs shop and I assume it will
involve getting another Bios Chip. Expensive procedure. Seems to me that
ASUS should improve a tad on the flash software. :(

rrr314159

Quote from: shankle on October 24, 2016, 01:42:26 AMSo I started playing around with the awful  ASUS BIOS. I then assumed that the MBR was messed up. So I decided to try and flash the Bios(BIG Mistake) ... The puter is still in the techs shop.

No offense, shankle, but I have heard it said that a little knowledge is a dangerous thing
I am NaN ;)

hutch--

Jack,