Message to All Guests

Main Menu

Introduction into MASM Q's

Started by c0mical, August 18, 2012, 09:52:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

c0mical

Hey whats going MASM32?

kk, lets jump into it:

1. I'm new to MASM so I was hoping to find some decent MASM papers/books. Ive had some problems with this because I'm wanting to find something that goes into deep explanation ASM writing. Format, Data structures, yada yada yada. I read over Iczelions papers (assuming you're familiar with his work(s)) and I wasn't really liking it, primarily because I was wanting a better understanding of control statements. I was wanting to learn how to write loops, if else statements, goto, etc using genuine ASM instructions using instructions like JMP. Although I hadnt read too far into his papers, I wasnt really finding much of that and it was disappointing. Can anyone point me in the right direction? I searched online and found a good paper awhile back, but I can't seem to find it anymore. Or, if theres a good thread on this forum I can read over I'd appreciate that too.

Good books, papers, personal advice, etc would be greatly appreciated.

2. I'm running a 64bit OS and it's virtually impossible to find papers regarding 64bit MASM (omit the manuals). I was wondering, the MASM32 assembler, if I write 32bit MASM on a 64bit OS, is that going to cause any actual problems? I'd assume it would. I've also heard 64bit ASM is different than 32bit ASM (omit things you could naturally assume like QWORD / DWORD) because register usage is different, am I correct? && If so, why is that?

I really appreciate all replies in advance. It's a little unsettling looking over forums, papers, etc because it's almost like there's no beginner ASM programmers like myself. There seems to be a giant skill gap.

hutch--

Hi,