News:

Masm32 SDK description, downloads and other helpful links
Message to All Guests

Main Menu

Just Getting Into Masm32 And Questions Already

Started by Don-D, August 22, 2012, 02:07:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Don-D

Hi, I've been working with Computers for decades, but I'm mostly self-taught on PCs.  What experience I've had with x86 assembler dates back to the 8086.  Then I got into BASIC, where I pretty much stayed for a long, long time.  The advent of the 386+ changed assembly programming, but I was not a part of that
move.

Then along came inline assembly.  Having programmed assembly on mainframes and knowing some of the advantages (and difficulties), I did a bit of that, but not much.  My last major BASIC language was/is, well, mostly was, PowerBASIC.  But I wanted a BASIC that worked outside of DOS and Windows.  I finally
settled on HotBasic.  You may never have heard of it, but it has a flavor of its own.  Well, actually, it began as an effort to take RapidQ code and compile it,
not just interpret it.  But it grew from there.

HotBasic is less like a wall than it is a dense hedge.  It has some odd gaps here and there, but you put your mind to it, you can mostly code around them.
But what I liked most about it is that the compiler can make 5 kinds of applications, and there is both a Windows and a Linux version.  I got both.

But as strings get longer, you begin to want for some way to do things faster.  Faster in some cases means going to assembler code.  HotBasic supports
its own flavor of Assembler Mnemonics, meaning it's not going 100% in that direction, but it has a good selection.  Only there is some stuff missiong, and
actually I found that there is at least one significant error in its implementation.  Since it is limited in some respects, you may have to use db to put the hex
code in in place of the mnemonic.  Now its to learning enough 386+ code mnemonics to get the job done, compile or assemble it, and move what you need