Masm32 SDK description, downloads and other helpful links
Message to All Guests

Main Menu

writing to a file

Started by Jbarrera, February 16, 2018, 08:52:25 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jbarrera

Hello everyone,

I am new to assembly code. I am using the Kip Irvine book and his example along with the libraries that are provided from the kip Irvine website.

There are a few things that I am not really understanding as my professor explained them (a bit rushed if I may add)

To create a file to write to the book give the following example:

.data

filename.   BYTE.    "myFile.txt",0
  .code
  main   PROC

lea    edx, filename
        call CreateOutputFile

now my professor told me that a value is going to be generated in the EAX register and that I need to save that value.

can someone please explain to me how creating an output file works and how to access it for writing.

I was also told that I need to have 3 parameters in order to write to a file

.data
    outfile  dword ?   ; I guess I save the out file descriptor here?
   lineOut   BYTE   "Test print",0

.code

mov   eax,outfile
    lea    edx,lineOut
    mov  ecx, 10
    call  writetofile

Thank you in advanced

jj2007

Your code should look similar to this:.data
outfile dword ?   ; I guess I save the out file descriptor here?
lineOut BYTE "Test print",0
filename BYTE "myFile.txt",0

.code
  lea edx, filename
  call CreateOutputFile
  mov outfile, eax

mov eax, outfile   ; just for illustration - here, eax already contains the handle
  lea edx, lineOut
  mov ecx, 10
  call WriteToFile

mov eax, outfile
  call CloseFile

You have a .data section, containing strings, file handles, etc., and a .code section. I have not put the headers - your prof will have told you how they should look like. I am also not sure whether I put the arguments to the right registers - read your documentation.

Btw you need to be more careful when writing programs, for example: