Author Topic: I'll be buying a new computer...  (Read 2896 times)

jimg

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 259
Re: I'll be buying a new computer...
« Reply #135 on: July 05, 2018, 01:15:00 AM »
I assume you did a google search for "dell inspiron 11 3000 disable touchpad" and nothing there helped?

zedd151

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 743
  • Back to coding...
Re: I'll be buying a new computer...
« Reply #136 on: July 05, 2018, 01:32:24 AM »
I assume you did a google search for "dell inspiron 11 3000 disable touchpad".....

 
 :icon_rolleyes:   Ummmm no. It's usually in a case like this that the most obvious solution for a problem is the most often overlooked.   :icon_mrgreen:
 
Thanks Jim, you're almost a genius.
 
There are two mice or pointing devices listed in device manager. One is the mouse that I use and the other is the touchpad, even though it is not listed as 'touchpad'. So changing the driver for the touchpad to anything else enabled me to disable it. and that's what worked to disable the touchpad.  Now I can remove FORTRANS' piece of cardboard.  :P   just kidding, Steve.
 
 Concept from answers.microsoft.com
 
 ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 
Now that the touchpad is totally disabled, I will put all the changes I made back to 'factory' condition - except for the disabled touchpad.
Then I will see if there is still a problem with the vertical scroll randomly activating.
 
 :biggrin:
I'm back at home on Windows XP, 32 bit.  :biggrin:
Plugin Builder v. 5.0.1 for qeditor

zedd151

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 743
  • Back to coding...
Re: I'll be buying a new computer...
« Reply #137 on: July 05, 2018, 11:25:26 PM »
After disbling the touchpad (finally) the mouse problem appeared to have been fixed.                           momentarily.   :(
 
That was a good suggestion however, to eliminate the possibility of compatibility problems between the mouse and touchpad.
 
So I thought "Now what can I do?".
 
I have changed the batteries
I disabled the scroll wheel by physically removing the emitter (it had a loose emitter)  -- read more below...
I have disabled the touchpad
I even tried changing drivers for the mouse.
 
All to no avail. Each time I try something it appears to work, but for just a little while.  Sooner or later, the trouble begins once again.
It seemed for a while to only happen ewhen I was typing. That made me paranoid that someone slipped me a Digital Bomb
 
I do go to places on the web, that are shall we say 'not suitable for all audiences'  :biggrin:   And I download a lot of junk from the web as well.
 
I have run AV scans on everything on my computer, the two SD cards I use for storage, it was driving me crazy!
I even thought that MS could be behind it, for all of my activity in closing down all of the MS Spyware on WIndows 10.  :P
 
but lo-and-behold....
remember when I said I 'fixed' the scroll wheel? It turns out I only did half of the job. I left the detector in place.
 
The last thing I did was to remove the detector for the scroll wheel. That was hours ago, and I have been writing some code since
that time with no apparent trouble from the mouse.
I'm back at home on Windows XP, 32 bit.  :biggrin:
Plugin Builder v. 5.0.1 for qeditor

hutch--

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 5495
  • Mnemonic Driven API Grinder
    • The MASM32 SDK
Re: I'll be buying a new computer...
« Reply #138 on: July 12, 2018, 03:10:09 PM »
Z,

I am much of the same view as AW, I use a Microsoft optical cable mouse that is completely hassle free as you just plug it in and it works. For my older i7 box with Win7 64 Ultimate I use a low cost wireless Logitech mouse which works fine but I have to keep in mind that it may stop if the battery wears out. The trick is to throw out any of the crap that comes with a cheap mouse if it will just plug in and run.
hutch at movsd dot com
http://www.masm32.com    :biggrin:  :biggrin:

zedd151

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 743
  • Back to coding...
Re: I'll be buying a new computer...
« Reply #139 on: July 12, 2018, 04:38:29 PM »
Z,

I am much of the same view as AW, I use a Microsoft optical cable mouse that is completely hassle free..

 
At this point (a full week after my last post) I can safely say that the trouble wasn't with my mouse after all.
It works fine now, with the touchpad disabled.
 
Apparently there is a problem with this computers touchpad and Windows 7 64 and my mouse -  all trying to
work together.
 
There are no issues with the touchpad and Windows 10 64, and the mouse all running at the same time.
 
-- -but I prefer to  keep running WIndows 7. So the touchpad will remain disabled until such time that I have
to run Windows 10 - as the trial period on my Windows 7 install on this computer nears its end.
 
 
 
 
I'm back at home on Windows XP, 32 bit.  :biggrin:
Plugin Builder v. 5.0.1 for qeditor

zedd151

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 743
  • Back to coding...
Just when I thought it was safe to go outside...
« Reply #140 on: July 14, 2018, 06:29:50 PM »
Damn Microsoft!!
 
I had to pop in a backup of Windows 10 to make a posting to one of the Matrix Transposition threads. I was sure that I had disabled Windows Update permanently. But low-and-behold, M$ found a way in, and I just got a popup from Windows 10 ""We are adding some new features to Windows, this could take a few moments" I rebooted back into WIndows 7 immediately to curtail the installation that probably still lies-in-wait. Luckily though, It's not my licensed version of Windows 10 which I had spent days securing from such tragedies.
 
On second thought, maybe I overlooked disabling Updates on the copy of Win 10 Ultimate that I was 'trying out'.    :icon_rolleyes: 
 
 correction= It was my primary Windows 10 licensed installation.
Ooops! something is definitely amiss. It was not Windows 10 Ultimate, as I had trouble with that backup. It was indeed my customized
Windows 10 installation that M$ found a way in- to Windows Update.  I'll just have to reinstall the backup to further circumvent their
tampering with my setup.  :shock:   I must have missed a setting somewhere. I know that it will not try to update the OS, it was trying to
install some 'typing' program, probably for autocorrect. I didn't get the full description of the update it was so generously supplying me with.
I'm back at home on Windows XP, 32 bit.  :biggrin:
Plugin Builder v. 5.0.1 for qeditor

zedd151

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 743
  • Back to coding...
Windows XP is here to stay...
« Reply #141 on: Today at 06:12:08 AM »
 :biggrin:   at least on my computer.


For over a week I have been using Windows XP in VirtualBox (On Windows 7 Ultimate - 32bit)


It is basically set up as my Development Environment. Nice, quiet, no peeping programs or processes to interfere
with what I want to do on MY computer.


If Windows 10 had not been natively installed at the factory I would totally remove it from my repertoire. (sp?)


Now I can comfortably write code, surf the internet and do everything else without wondering what Windows 10 is
tracking about me today. Fork Cortana! That whore.  :biggrin:


Windows 10 is the ultimate spyware. Yet M$ claims that everything that Windows 10 does is there to help you.


LOL!!  That kind of help I do not need. I want to be left the f**k alone and not be spied on by my Operating System.  8)
I'm back at home on Windows XP, 32 bit.  :biggrin:
Plugin Builder v. 5.0.1 for qeditor