Author Topic: Detect if your Windows version is 32- or 64-bit  (Read 1678 times)

Raistlin

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 384
Re: Detect if your Windows version is 32- or 64-bit
« Reply #30 on: September 27, 2018, 08:39:34 PM »
HEY I am all for learning  :t There's just a small
problem with the detection logic, which I wont
share here. PM me please when you have time.
Are you pondering what I'm pondering? It's time to take over the world ! - let's use ASSEMBLY...

felipe

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 970
  • Eagles are just great!
Re: Detect if your Windows version is 32- or 64-bit
« Reply #31 on: September 28, 2018, 04:42:16 AM »
I already pm you Raistlin  :icon14:...but why you don't want to share the error? is a security critical thing?  :shock:
Felipe.

Raistlin

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 384
Re: Detect if your Windows version is 32- or 64-bit
« Reply #32 on: September 28, 2018, 03:56:59 PM »
No nothing serious  ;) PM'ed you back .... no security issues - don't worry.
Are you pondering what I'm pondering? It's time to take over the world ! - let's use ASSEMBLY...

HSE

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 839
  • <AMD>< 7-32>
Re: Detect if your Windows version is 32- or 64-bit
« Reply #33 on: September 28, 2018, 11:59:53 PM »
is a security critical thing?  :shock:

Take care Felipe  :icon_eek:

A search in most dark servers return this:

Raistlin's ponderings

Raistlin

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 384
Re: Detect if your Windows version is 32- or 64-bit
« Reply #34 on: October 08, 2018, 02:44:49 AM »
Erm...I am not quite so nefarious.
But thanks for the thought. I have
supplied Felipe with the required
thought processes. Its up to him
to decide to share his outcomes.
No conspiracy theories required  :t
Are you pondering what I'm pondering? It's time to take over the world ! - let's use ASSEMBLY...

felipe

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 970
  • Eagles are just great!
Re: Detect if your Windows version is 32- or 64-bit
« Reply #35 on: October 08, 2018, 03:46:02 AM »
Well the issue in the 64 bit app was that if this app runs in a 32 bit system it will crash...  :exclaim:
Felipe.

2B||!2B

  • Regular Member
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: Detect if your Windows version is 32- or 64-bit
« Reply #36 on: November 06, 2018, 03:43:52 PM »
Hi jj2007,

Nice work there.

My version is similar to what fearless pointed out

Code: [Select]
MOV DX, CS
 .if DL == 1Bh
      ;32Bit System
.elseif DL == 23h
      ;64Bit System (WoW)
.else
      ;33h value for 64Bit Native (Exe + System)
.endif

rsala

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 281
    • Easy Code
Re: Detect if your Windows version is 32- or 64-bit
« Reply #37 on: November 07, 2018, 04:49:46 AM »
Hi,

Please try the attached file.

Thanks!
EC coder

jj2007

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8826
  • Assembler is fun ;-)
    • MasmBasic
Re: Detect if your Windows version is 32- or 64-bit
« Reply #38 on: November 07, 2018, 05:23:32 AM »
Windows 7 v6.1 64-bit Service Pack 1

(with next version, please offer option to copy the string to the clipboard ;))

rsala

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 281
    • Easy Code
Re: Detect if your Windows version is 32- or 64-bit
« Reply #39 on: November 08, 2018, 07:12:37 AM »
I will, thanks!
 :t
EC coder