Author Topic: Microsoft MASM bug  (Read 4146 times)

hutch--

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 6725
  • Mnemonic Driven API Grinder
    • The MASM32 SDK
Re: Microsoft MASM bug
« Reply #15 on: July 21, 2018, 11:44:32 AM »
Most probably but I doubt it will ever be fixed as its really bad code to start with. If you want big memory, allocate it, that's what its designed for.
hutch at movsd dot com
http://www.masm32.com    :biggrin:  :skrewy:

LiaoMi

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 593
Re: Microsoft MASM bug
« Reply #16 on: July 21, 2018, 06:21:22 PM »
> No. That's why I proposed the other solution: use UAsm

MASM has been around for over 35 years, should we hold our breath waiting for the alternatives ?  :P

Watcom died in the arse, JWASM barely made 5 years and MASM is still going strong, should we be worried ?  :lol:

Most probably but I doubt it will ever be fixed as its really bad code to start with. If you want big memory, allocate it, that's what its designed for.

A man made a suit in a studio. He returns home, put it on. The wife says in anger:
"What did you sew?" Look: one sleeve is longer, the other is shorter.
The floors at the jacket are different, the legs are different. Bring it back!
The husband went back:
"What did you sew me?" Look! Pants of different lengths!
- You can bend one leg in the knee, because you do not go on straight
feet. Then everything will be fine.
- Look, the sleeves are different in length!
- So what? You do not hold your hands on the sides. Bend them in the elbows.
Now everything is fine.
"And the floors?" What to do with them?
- You can lean a little on one side. Now everything is fine.
The man came out in a new suit. People at the bus stop:
"Look at that freak!" How he suffers! But what a cool suit!

  :biggrin:

LiaoMi

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 593
Re: Microsoft MASM bug
« Reply #17 on: July 21, 2018, 06:28:08 PM »
Do the newer masm also have the bug,where it takes time ala a coffee break while using big numbers in DUP?

Hi daydreamer,

is there any example with this bug?

dedndave

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8823
  • Still using Abacus 2.0
    • DednDave
Re: Microsoft MASM bug
« Reply #18 on: July 21, 2018, 07:14:17 PM »
i don't know if there is an example, per se
just try assembling a test program with this in the .DATA? section

Code: [Select]
buffer db 65536 dup(?)
the code works fine - a buffer is created
but, it takes a long time to assemble
it's a well-known masm bug
usually fixed by breaking the buffer into a few smaller DB's

daydreamer

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 930
  • watch Chebyshev on the backside of the Moon
Re: Microsoft MASM bug
« Reply #19 on: July 21, 2018, 09:20:41 PM »
Most probably but I doubt it will ever be fixed as its really bad code to start with. If you want big memory, allocate it, that's what its designed for.
I am not sure if it's both. Data and. Data? Section or just one of them
I don't think it's bad code,I think the masm coder who wrote that part was thinking the same as you: big memory is allocated, dup should be used for create very small buffers ,so nobody tested dup for high numbers before release?
But if every byte needed = one alloc call * some milliseconds no wonder it takes time with high dup numbers
Anyone tested if dup 6554 real10's or bigger data sizes would make it 10 times faster than a 65536 dup with db?
Quote from Flashdance
Nick  :  When you give up your dream, you die
*wears a flameproof asbestos suit*
Gone serverside programming p:  :D

AW

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2402
  • Let's Make ASM Great Again!
Re: Microsoft MASM bug
« Reply #20 on: January 18, 2019, 09:08:32 PM »
Yeah, Microsoft sent me an email saying that they fixed it  :t (Fixed - Pending Release)
https://developercommunity.visualstudio.com/content/problem/231914/masm-140-if-signed-comparison-bug.html

jj2007

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9755
  • Assembler is fun ;-)
    • MasmBasic
Re: Microsoft MASM bug
« Reply #21 on: January 18, 2019, 09:54:03 PM »
54.9% of problems solved :P

ragdog

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 610
Re: Microsoft MASM bug
« Reply #22 on: January 18, 2019, 10:56:02 PM »
Not only masm has bugs ,Cl or other too
The biggest bug is the new OS it end with 10  :icon_redface:

hutch--

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 6725
  • Mnemonic Driven API Grinder
    • The MASM32 SDK
Re: Microsoft MASM bug
« Reply #23 on: January 18, 2019, 11:00:11 PM »
MASM has always had interesting "features", whats new ?
hutch at movsd dot com
http://www.masm32.com    :biggrin:  :skrewy:

ragdog

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 610
Re: Microsoft MASM bug
« Reply #24 on: January 18, 2019, 11:17:57 PM »
https://github.com/UnlimitedChild/x86-x64-Microsoft-Macro-Assembler-bugs/releases

I think M$ has no more quality management ,bugtest?*tester=user ::)
Your can see it  the update problematic on win10 the last and this year.

AW

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2402
  • Let's Make ASM Great Again!
Re: Microsoft MASM bug
« Reply #25 on: February 14, 2019, 06:06:49 PM »
A new comment on a MASM 14.0 .if signed comparison bug was posted by Blair Wang [MSFT] on Developer Community:

A fix for this issue is now available in the latest preview, Visual Studio 2019 Preview: https://visualstudio.microsoft.com/vs/preview/ , which can be installed side-by-side with your existing instance of Visual Studio 2017.  To learn more on how the Visual Studio 2019 preview can help you to be more productive, please visit https://blogs.msdn.microsoft.com/visualstudio/2018/12/04/making-every-developer-more-productive-with-visual-studio-2019/

I had not tested VS 2019 Preview yet, but will do it soon.