Author Topic: to get VC++ generate asm?  (Read 5646 times)

fearless

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 484
    • LetTheLightIn
Re: to get VC++ generate asm?
« Reply #15 on: March 15, 2019, 02:34:25 AM »
no idea what this jmps/calls do,but they have nothing todo with SSE
the __ftol2_sse is a ms visual c library function to convert float to long - the code in __ftol2_sse checks to see if it can use sse to calc that, otherwise it defaults to whatever normal non sse code is in that function.
fearless

CM690II Case, HX1000 PSU, Asus Z97, Intel i7-4790K, Seidon 120v Cooler, 16GB DDR3, MSI GTX 980TI

My Github  Twitter

TimoVJL

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 586
Re: to get VC++ generate asm?
« Reply #16 on: March 15, 2019, 03:13:32 AM »
To avoid SSE:
/QIfist[-] use FIST instead of ftol()
/arch:IA32 - use no enhanced instructions and use x87 for floating point
May the source be with you

daydreamer

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1422
  • building nextdoor
Re: to get VC++ generate asm?
« Reply #17 on: March 16, 2019, 04:51:21 AM »
thanks Steve,Timo,fearless
Showcase :
With Masm sdk and 2-3 hours = a windows program :D
Beat that C zealots p:

daydreamer

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1422
  • building nextdoor
Re: to get VC++ generate asm?
« Reply #18 on: May 11, 2019, 01:47:15 AM »
this IDE and C++ compiler seem like a way to make a bigger project,mixing masm code and C++ code
enjoy use masm code in a project,while C++ code to make you more productive where speed doesnt matter, to maybe finally put together a big project
but also fun in compare a long switch with a jumptable
Showcase :
With Masm sdk and 2-3 hours = a windows program :D
Beat that C zealots p:

daydreamer

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1422
  • building nextdoor
Re: to get VC++ generate asm?
« Reply #19 on: August 07, 2019, 04:49:10 AM »
it would be nice to learn howto also make macros inside VC++,because I read "_inline" is just bad suggestion to compiler that its probably not will follow
Showcase :
With Masm sdk and 2-3 hours = a windows program :D
Beat that C zealots p:

TimoVJL

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 586
Re: to get VC++ generate asm?
« Reply #20 on: August 07, 2019, 09:17:04 PM »
Why ?
msvc x64 don't support inline  assembler.
read about msvc __forceinline, if you just stick with 32-bit.

I don't know how those #defines affect to optimizer.


May the source be with you

daydreamer

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1422
  • building nextdoor
Re: to get VC++ generate asm?
« Reply #21 on: August 09, 2019, 02:22:15 AM »
Why ?
msvc x64 don't support inline  assembler.
read about msvc __forceinline, if you just stick with 32-bit.

I don't know how those #defines affect to optimizer.
thanks,because if SIMD needs other things than an assembler to keep on using,I have checked alternatives intrinsic looks like it has similarities to assembler but more lot complex and longer than the usual mnemonics to type
Showcase :
With Masm sdk and 2-3 hours = a windows program :D
Beat that C zealots p:

daydreamer

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1422
  • building nextdoor
Re: to get VC++ generate asm?
« Reply #22 on: February 10, 2020, 05:56:01 PM »
I got a 415kb asm file  :rolleyes:

it feels like I should do a different approach on this
Showcase :
With Masm sdk and 2-3 hours = a windows program :D
Beat that C zealots p:

daydreamer

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1422
  • building nextdoor
Re: to get VC++ generate asm?
« Reply #23 on: March 24, 2020, 01:32:01 AM »
VC++ wizard generates 46kb small.ico ,+46kb the normal .ico files,now trying to make my own maybe it would be possible to cut down on size,the windows program without the debug usually endup 120kb,console only end up about 22kb,so I suspect about 100kb of it is the resource files???
Showcase :
With Masm sdk and 2-3 hours = a windows program :D
Beat that C zealots p:

daydreamer

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1422
  • building nextdoor
weird vc++ produced exe!
« Reply #24 on: May 31, 2020, 06:18:00 AM »
I have tested vc++ and also masm produced exe on several different machines
Win10 seem to have standard installed directd and c runtime, but on win8 first works after download and install crt
On WinXP it gives similar message as try run 64bit Exe on 32bit os,something like "this is not a 32bit exe ",strange it's compiled x86
But the good part is I went back to masm32 development and the call macros combined with string macros are great for Windows programming
And works great on ancient xp machine,  2ghz amd
Showcase :
With Masm sdk and 2-3 hours = a windows program :D
Beat that C zealots p:

Vortex

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2457
Re: to get VC++ generate asm?
« Reply #25 on: November 11, 2020, 06:56:56 PM »
Hello daydreamer,

Quote
On WinXP it gives similar message as try run 64bit Exe on 32bit os,something like "this is not a 32bit exe ",strange it's compiled x86

I think Windows XP does not like the build numbers ( OSMajor and OSMinor version numbers ) in the Windows PE header. Could you check it?