News:

Masm32 SDK description, downloads and other helpful links
Message to All Guests

Main Menu

Puzzled by FPU behavior (X87 newbie here)

Started by NoCforMe, December 28, 2021, 01:23:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

NoCforMe

Back after a long absence; time for more programming fun.

So I'm learning X87 programming. Just getting my feet wet. (I'm an experienced MASM/Win32 programmer.)

Here's what's puzzing me: in order to learn just basic stuff, like loading and storing data (and also the FXTRACT instruction, which intrigues me), I wrote this little snippet which simply loads pi, FXTRACTs it into significand and exponent, then displays these two values. Code is here:

FLDPI ;Load pi--> ST(0)
FXTRACT ;Exponent--> ST(0), sig.--> ST(1)
FSTP sig ;Significand--> sig

; Convert significand to ASCII text:
INVOKE FpuFLtoA, ADDR sig, $FPU_FL2AParms, ADDR buff1, SRC1_REAL or SRC1_DIMM or STR_REG

FSTP exp ;Exponent--> exp

; Convert exponent to ASCII text:
INVOKE FpuFLtoA, ADDR exp, $FPU_FL2AParms, ADDR buff2, SRC1_REAL or SRC1_DIMM or STR_REG

; Display results:
INVOKE wsprintf, ADDR buffer, OFFSET OutFmt, ADDR buff1, ADDR buff2
INVOKE SetWindowText, ExpHandle, ADDR buffer

(If someone wants I could provide the complete program, but I'd have to tweak it as I do some idiosyncratic things that won't work with most people's setups.)

Well, I get the oddest result: it works, sorta, but the significand displayed is exactly half of pi, 1.5707963268. Can't figure out why this is.

I would have expected to get 3.14159... for the significand and zero for the exponent, right? Instead, the exponent is 1. I guess that was naive of me.

I looked in an X87 manual I downloaded (from AMD), and here's what they say about the FXTRACT operation: