Main Menu

Hi I am new to the MASM community I am looking to learn m64

Started by SkylerAk, July 04, 2023, 03:23:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

SkylerAk

I was inspired by a video I watched:
youtube.com/watch?v=AQERQd4RreA
I think his demo was inspired by:
codeproject.com/Articles/1190931/Direct-X-and-Pure-Assembly-Language-Doing-What-Can
I checked out the project and was inspired by how cool it was, it didn't build on my system but after following the procedures in his follow up video tutorial:
youtube.com/watch?v=aw6L6feBKrc&t=217s
I was able to successfully get it to build!

I am now looking to learn more about m64 (I would learn m32 as I have heard it is easier but I think in the long run it may be deprecated)
I have taken a look at the intel programming guide volume 2(a) and have programmed with directx in the past but I want to learn more about assembly and setting up a nice workflow for it

I also do not have much experience with batch programs or cmd.exe so I personally would use MS VS community but am looking for other options suggested by community members
Documentation on m64 seems to be quite lacking on MSDN, any good resources by community members on alternatives would be greatly appreciated

I guess my 4 main questions are:
1. Good starter projects, even something basic like writing out hello world to console subsystem, and resources to accomplish that task
2. Better documentation on x86 that is FREE (I know there is a book linked, I know it is a good resource but I am not sure about spending $40 on it right now)
3. Suggestions for programming environment
4. Documentation on m64 especially preproccessors

any replies are appreciated cheers!  :biggrin:
Hello World!

zedd151

Welcome to The Masm Forum, nice to meet you.   :thumbsup:

zedd

SkylerAk

Thanks zedd, btw I read the pinned thread but I am not sure how to set pfp or url can you help me out? TY in advance :D
Hello World!

SkylerAk

Hello World!

zedd151