News:

Masm32 SDK description, downloads and other helpful links
Message to All Guests

Main Menu

How do I compile a SUBSYSTEM:WINDOWS for masm32?

Started by cyrus, April 08, 2024, 03:59:01 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

cyrus

I'm new to masm32. I am using ml.exe, not the other masm32 that exists that can be downloaded. I guess the syntax is a bit different? For ml64.exe I just simply add /SUBSYSTEM:WINDOWS. I'm now programming in masm32 and everything is a lot different here. Just compiling, I need to add many flags I'm not familiar with like /c and /coff and then linking the object files but I was able to do so in console mode. For windows mode, I am getting this error:

msvcrt.lib(exe_winmain.obj) : error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol _WinMain@16 referenced in function "int __cdecl __scrt_common_main_seh(void)" (?__scrt_common_main_seh@@YAHXZ)

I tried putting WinMain instead of main in proc and endp but no difference.

NoCforMe

Looks like you're using some kind of external library (containing a function "__scrt_common_main_seh") that might be the problem. What libraries or external object modules are you using?
Assembly language programming should be fun. That's why I do it.

cyrus

Ok I was able to figure this out. I'm using these libraries:

includelib ucrt.lib
includelib msvcrt.lib
includelib legacy_stdio_definitions.lib

I changed main to WinMain but before WinMain proc, I put entry: like so:

entry:
;main proc
WinMain proc

At the end:

WinMain endp
;main endp
end entry

NoCforMe

Yes; remember that
end [label]at the end of your code sets the entry point for your executable to label. Nothing "magic" about that name.

cyrus

oh yes I know I could use anything for the label, I guess when they moved to ml64, they probably realized it was a pain to use WinMain and just allowed people to go with the traditional main proc and main endp

NoCforMe

Nothing magic about that name either. My standard top o'code:
.code

start: INVOKE GetModuleHandle, NULL