i notice some folks (cant remember who now it's been a while) correct me for using addr instead of offset in certain instances, usually they seem to work the same, is there a reason to use one rather then the other? thanx
Yes. They're not really interchangeable.
Use OFFSET when you (actually the assembler) knows the item you want the address of has a fixed address; this applies to variables declared in one of the .data sections:
.data
SomeVariable DD ?
MOV EDX, OFFSET SomeVariable
ADDR is only used for variables that are either on the stack, or are pointed to by a register: in both cases, the item you want the address of has no fixed address.
LOCAL someVariable:DWORD, someOtherVariable:DWORD
MOV EDX, ADDR someVariable
LEA EDX, someOtherVariable ;this is a pointer to a structure
INVOKE SomeFunction, ADDR someVariable, ADDR [EDX].someStructure.someElement
What happens behind the scenes when you use ADDR is this:
LEA EAX, <variable>
PUSH EAX
which is why you cannot use EAX as a parameter to the left of ADDR, because EAX will have been clobbered by ADDR.
o Use OFFSET when the address of the variable is known (global variables in .data or .data?);
o Use ADDR where the variable doesn't have a fixed (known) address (either a LOCAL variable on the stack or something pointed to by a register, like [EDX].STRUCT.element).
What you can't do is this (this will result in an assembler error):
XYZ PROC
LOCAL someVariable:DWORD
MOV EAX, OFFSET someVariable
because someVariable has no known fixed address (it's on the stack).
You can use addr in most cases. However, while it is obligatory to use addr for local variables, for global variables you can use either addr or offset. In the interest of readability, it is good practice to use systematically offset for global variables, so that you can see at one glance whether a variable is local or global.
Just did a test. No, you can't use
ADDR in "most cases"; only where it's appropriate.
This will win you an error:
.data
SomeVariable DD ?
.code
MOV EAX, ADDR SomeVariable
Use
OFFSET here instead (globals in
.data or
.data?, remember?).
Further research: I thought you could only use
ADDR with
INVOKE, and it turns out I was right about that. From the MASM 6.1 manual:
QuoteThe ADDR keyword is new since MASM 5.1. When used with INVOKE, it
provides the address of a variable, in the same way as the address-of operator
(&) in C.
Deja vu (https://masm32.com/board/index.php?msg=130074)
Here's an example where using "offset" causes a pretty hard to find error, while "addr" works fine.
Actually, it's a JWasm regression test case ( no windows proggie, sorry, not even a running program at all ).
;--- error with using offset in INVOKE
.386
.MODEL tiny, stdcall
.dosseg
.stack 2048
option casemap:none
_TEXT16 segment word use16 public 'CODE'
oldint8rm dd ?
oldint9rm dd ?
irq0rm:
iret
irq1rm:
iret
rmsetvecs:
rmresetvecs:
retf
_TEXT16 ends
.CODE
;--- setup rm irq procs
SetIVTVec proc uses ebx edi mode:dword, vec:dword, newvec:word, pOldVec:ptr
mov ebx, vec
mov edi, pOldVec
mov dx, newvec
ret
SetIVTVec endp
SetIVTVecs proc mode:dword
invoke SetIVTVec, mode, 8, offset irq0rm, addr oldint8rm
invoke SetIVTVec, mode, 9, offset irq1rm, addr oldint9rm
ret
SetIVTVecs endp
end
So .... who is capable to find out what the problem is? It's a real aptitude test...
OFFSET in the 32-bit code is only pushing the 16-bit offset , ADDR is pushing the 16-bit offset plus a WORD 0.
Stack misaligned by 2?
RET 10h fails?
I prefer use lea eax,variable
Instead of mov eax,offset variable
Like this
Princess:lea eax,Luke
Quote from: sinsi on May 24, 2024, 03:42:08 PMOFFSET in the 32-bit code is only pushing the 16-bit offset , ADDR is pushing the 16-bit offset plus a WORD 0.
Stack misaligned by 2?
RET 10h fails?
Congrats, you're a member of the small group of people who knows when and how a listing is to be used!
It's actually another "Masm invoke" bug, IMO...
Quote from: daydreamer on May 24, 2024, 03:49:01 PMI prefer use lea eax,variable
Instead of mov eax,offset variable
Like this
Princess:lea eax,Luke
The instruction can be a byte or two longer though, if that matters.
It's a good idea in 64-bit programming, never use OFFSET and you will have position-independent code (RIP-relative), no fixups/relocations.
Quote from: NoCforMe on May 24, 2024, 11:15:12 AMNo, you can't use ADDR in "most cases"; only where it's appropriate.
Absolutely, that's what I meant but forgot to specify:
with invokeMOV EAX, ADDR SomeVariable will throw an error, so no harm done.
Please, let's not forget that this is a Campus thread.With 32-bit code, use:
mov eax, offset globalvar
lea eax, localvar
invoke someproc, offset globalvar ; you can use addr globalvar, but for readability use offset
invoke someproc, addr localvar ; you must use addr here
With 64-bit code, use:
lea eax, globalvar
lea eax, localvar
invoke someproc, addr globalvar
invoke someproc, addr localvar
Quote from: jj2007 on May 24, 2024, 04:59:49 PMWith 64-bit code, use:
lea eax, globalvar
What, no
OFFSET in 64-bit?
Quote from: NoCforMe on May 24, 2024, 06:15:09 PMWhat, no OFFSET in 64-bit?
Yes, but it requires a relocation which is 8 bytes plus the instruction whereas ADDR uses RIP-relative addressing, so every offset is just RIP plus/minus a signed DWORD, 4 bytes plus instruction.
mov rax, offset globalvar
lea rax, globalvar
64-bit:
0001_40001087 48:B8 3C30004001000000 mov rax,offset 0001_4000303C ; ASCII "Ciao"
0001_40001091 48:8D05 A41F0000 lea rax,[rel 1_4000303C] ; ASCII "Ciao"
32-bit:
00401056 |. B8 3C304000 mov eax, offset 0040303C ; ASCII "Ciao"
0040105B |. 8D05 3C304000 lea eax, [40303C] ; ASCII "Ciao"
thanx everyone... id call that comprehensive 8)
Quote from: sinsi on May 24, 2024, 04:44:34 PMQuote from: daydreamer on May 24, 2024, 03:49:01 PMI prefer use lea eax,variable
Instead of mov eax,offset variable
Like this
Princess:lea eax,Luke
The instruction can be a byte or two longer though, if that matters.
It's a good idea in 64-bit programming, never use OFFSET and you will have position-independent code (RIP-relative), no fixups/relocations.
I dont care because I often code SSE/SSE2,SSE opcodes is 3+ bytes in size,SSE2 opcodes is 4+ bytes in size,load source and destination adresses into gp regs are before innerloop,inside innerloop lower opcode size means ability to unroll loop more times