Is there a way to detect if the window of my app is totally ( not partially ) being covered by a window of another app.
Then I can stop drawing to my window.
I tried "WM_SHOWWINDOW" but had no succes.
.elseif wMsg == WM_SHOWWINDOW
.if wParam == FALSE
.if lParam == SW_OTHERZOOM
mov b_Pause,TRUE
.elseif lParam == SW_OTHERUNZOOM
mov b_Pause,FALSE
.endif
.endif
return 0
GetForegroundWindow
sorry - totally covered is a little more difficult
you would have to use WindowFromPoint or something
best thing to do is to update only the window portion that is requested in the PAINTSTRUCT rcPaint
if your window is totally covered, you won't get WM_PAINT messages at all
you are probably updating on some timer :P
so - instead of drawing, InvalidateRect and UpdateWindow
and do the drawing in WM_PAINT
Hoping there was some kind of windows message for this case.
Drawing from the WM_PAINT is not an option in my app.
This should do the job:
GetUpdateRect: If there is no update region, the return value is zero
As Dave already wrote, a fully covered window doesn't receive WM_PAINT - precisely because it has nothing to update.
GetUpdateRect - good thinking :t
"GetUpdateRect" didn't do the job.
It stops the drawing when the window is minimized but not if it is totally covered by another window.
The only thing I can think of is "WM_ACTIVATEAPP", drawing stops if my window has lost focus.
But what I really want is to stop drawing only if my window is totally covered.
Hello ,
Just a sily idea but have you tried
HWND_TOPMOST
I google that and masm32 and got so many snipits here on this forum
I know that command sets window top most , maybe a way to return that value ?
Some search results I got:
http://masm32.com/board/index.php?topic=1483.15
http://www.masmforum.com/board/index.php?PHPSESSID=786dd40408172108b65a5a36b09c88c0&topic=4662;prev_next=next
I did something similar with buttons focus , with set focus WM_KILLFOCUS
http://www.masmforum.com/board/index.php?PHPSESSID=786dd40408172108b65a5a36b09c88c0&topic=17338.0
Maybe this can be of some help to you?
Quote from: Siekmanski on May 27, 2013, 03:55:44 AM
"GetUpdateRect" didn't do the job.
It stops the drawing when the window is minimized but not if it is totally covered by another window.
The sequence is:
- Windows thinks your window needs painting
- in that moment, GetUpdateRect returns a rectangle
- but you also get a WM_PAINT message
- in either case, you paint
- you ValidateRect
- if you don't, GetUpdateRect will continue complaining that there is a rectangle to be painted
So where in that sequence is your problem?
i think, if you do not handle WM_PAINT messages, the default processing validates the update area
so - it might appear as though there is no update area
a possible workaround might be to have a "dummy" WM_PAINT handler
.elseif uMsg==WM_PAINT
INVOKE BeginPaint,hWnd,offset ps
INVOKE EndPaint,hWnd,offset ps
xor eax,eax ;return FALSE
by using a static PAINTSTRUCT structure, you will have the most recent update rectangle
once you have read the rectangle values, you could set a member of
the structure to 0 to indicate it has been read (like ps.hdc, for example)
Using the update rectangle won't work if desktop composition (->DWM) is enabled, because the content of each window is stored separately and combined by/in the graphics card to the final screen-image. Therefore overlapping a window does not automatically invalidate the corresponding region.
Quote from: msdn: Desktop Window ManagerThe desktop composition feature, introduced in Windows Vista, fundamentally changed the way applications display pixels on the screen. When desktop composition is enabled, individual windows no longer draw directly to the screen or primary display device as they did in previous versions of Windows. Instead, their drawing is redirected to off-screen surfaces in video memory, which are then rendered into a desktop image and presented on the display.
Quote from: dedndave on May 27, 2013, 06:22:04 AM
i think, if you do not handle WM_PAINT messages, the default processing validates the update area
I get the impression that he has the opposite problem: "It stops the drawing when the window is minimized but
not if it is totally covered by another window."
You can paint using the DC directly, but if you do not validate the rect, how does Windows know that painting is complete? So GetUpdateRect will continue returning "I got a region that needs updating"...
I don't want it to be always on top.
This is the D3D9 proggy I'm talking about,
http://masm32.com/board/index.php?topic=1890.msg20256#msg20256
Common\Direct3D9_Main.Asm
WndProc proc hwnd:DWORD,wMsg:DWORD,wParam:DWORD,lParam:DWORD
.if wMsg == WM_DESTROY
invoke PostQuitMessage,NULL
return 0
; .elseif wMsg == WM_ACTIVATEAPP
; .if wParam == TRUE
; mov b_Pause,FALSE
; .else
; mov b_Pause,TRUE
; .endif
; return 0
.elseif wMsg == WM_SIZE
.if wParam == SIZE_MINIMIZED
mov b_Pause,TRUE
.elseif wParam == SIZE_MAXIMIZED
coinvoke g_pD3DDevice,IDirect3DDevice9,Reset,addr d3dpp
mov b_Pause,FALSE
.elseif wParam == SIZE_RESTORED
coinvoke g_pD3DDevice,IDirect3DDevice9,Reset,addr d3dpp
invoke RenderD3d
mov b_Pause,FALSE
.endif
return 0
.elseif wMsg == WM_PAINT
invoke ValidateRect,hwnd,NULL
return 0
.elseif wMsg == WM_KEYDOWN
.if wParam == VK_ESCAPE
invoke PostQuitMessage,WM_QUIT
return 0
.elseif wParam == VK_F1
mov b_Pause,TRUE
invoke ToggleFullScreen
mov b_Pause,FALSE
.endif
return 0
.else
invoke DefWindowProc,hwnd,wMsg,wParam,lParam
ret
.endif
WndProc endp
The message part,
invoke RtlZeroMemory,addr msg,sizeof msg
.while ( msg.message != WM_QUIT )
.if (b_Pause == FALSE)
invoke PeekMessage,addr msg,NULL,0,0,PM_REMOVE
.else
invoke GetMessage,addr msg,NULL,0,0
.endif
.if eax != 0
invoke TranslateMessage,addr msg
invoke DispatchMessage,addr msg
.else
.if (b_Pause == FALSE)
invoke RenderD3d
.endif
.endif
.endw
Also no succes:
.elseif uMsg==WM_PAINT
INVOKE BeginPaint,hWnd,offset ps
INVOKE EndPaint,hWnd,offset ps
xor eax,eax ;return FALSE
In combination with:
invoke GetUpdateRect,hWnd,NULL,TRUE
.if (eax == 0)
invoke RenderD3d
.endif
give this a try :P
IsWindowHidden PROC USES EBX ESI EDI hWnd:HWND
;---------------------------------
LOCAL _rcClient :RECT
;---------------------------------
mov ebx,hWnd
INVOKE GetClientRect,ebx,addr _rcClient
mov eax,_rcClient.bottom
cmp eax,_rcClient.top
jbe IsHdn2
mov edx,_rcClient.right
cmp edx,_rcClient.left
jbe IsHdn2
INVOKE ClientToScreen,ebx,addr _rcClient.left
INVOKE ClientToScreen,ebx,addr _rcClient.right
INVOKE WindowFromPoint,_rcClient.left,_rcClient.top
cmp eax,ebx
jz IsHdn3
INVOKE WindowFromPoint,_rcClient.right,_rcClient.top
cmp eax,ebx
jz IsHdn3
INVOKE WindowFromPoint,_rcClient.left,_rcClient.bottom
cmp eax,ebx
jz IsHdn3
INVOKE WindowFromPoint,_rcClient.right,_rcClient.bottom
cmp eax,ebx
jz IsHdn3
mov esi,_rcClient.bottom
mov edi,_rcClient.right
add esi,_rcClient.top
shr esi,1
IsHdn0: INVOKE WindowFromPoint,edi,esi
cmp eax,ebx
jz IsHdn3
dec edi
cmp edi,_rcClient.left
jae IsHdn0
mov esi,_rcClient.right
mov edi,_rcClient.bottom
add esi,_rcClient.left
shr esi,1
IsHdn1: INVOKE WindowFromPoint,esi,edi
cmp eax,ebx
jz IsHdn3
dec edi
cmp edi,_rcClient.top
jae IsHdn1
IsHdn2: mov eax,TRUE
jmp short IsHdn4
IsHdn3: xor eax,eax
IsHdn4: ret
IsWindowHidden ENDP
EDIT: corrected a few mistakes
Sorry if that is a stupid question - shouldn't it be the other way round, i.e. "render if there is something to update"?
Quote from: Siekmanski on May 27, 2013, 08:09:23 AM
invoke GetUpdateRect,hWnd,NULL,TRUE
.if eax
invoke RenderD3d
.endif
Thanks Dave,
Your "IsWindowHidden" routine works! :t
invoke IsWindowHidden,hWnd
.if (eax == FALSE)
invoke RenderD3d
.else
invoke Sleep,100
.endif
Now if the window is totally covered it doesn't consume all cpu usage. :biggrin:
Hi jj2007,
Yes you're right, but nonzero (if an update region exists) or zero (if one does not) it didn't work in my case.
Maybe it's the way D3D9 handles things???
there are ways to fool it, but you'd have to really go out of your way :P
Here is a sample,obscured
probably a lot faster than mine - lol
part of that function can be simplified to remove the branches
also, the masm32 library has the "rv" macro
.if iType==NULLREGION
mov eax,OBS_COMPLETELYCOVERED
jmp FindeGetClientObscuredness
.elseif iType==COMPLEXREGION
mov eax,OBS_PARTIALLYVISIBLE
jmp FindeGetClientObscuredness
.endif
INVOKE GetClientRect,hwnd,addr rcClient
.if FUNC(EqualRect,addr rc,addr rcClient)
mov eax,OBS_COMPLETELYVISIBLE
jmp FindeGetClientObscuredness
.endif
mov eax,OBS_PARTIALLYVISIBLE
FindeGetClientObscuredness:
ret
.if iType==NULLREGION
mov eax,OBS_COMPLETELYCOVERED
.elseif iType==COMPLEXREGION
mov eax,OBS_PARTIALLYVISIBLE
.else
INVOKE GetClientRect,hwnd,addr rcClient
.if rv(EqualRect,addr rc,addr rcClient)
mov eax,OBS_COMPLETELYVISIBLE
.else
mov eax,OBS_PARTIALLYVISIBLE
.endif
.endif
ret
Quote from: ToutEnMasm on May 27, 2013, 10:31:45 PM
Here is a sample,obscured
does not work when Windows Aero is enabled.
mine probably doesn't work, either
there is a work-around - you just have to find the handle for the worker window
Have I missed something here or is the obvious being missed, what is wrong with checking if the potentially obscured window has the focus ?
that would tell you if it has keyboard focus
but, he wants to stop updating the window when it is completely hidden from view
a window can be fully or partially visible and not have keyboard focus
GetActiveWindow().
Quote
does not work when Windows Aero is enabled.
Don't know,what is that ?,just vista ?.
Quote from: ToutEnMasm on May 28, 2013, 04:20:29 AM
Quote
does not work when Windows Aero is enabled.
Don't know,what is that ?,just vista ?.
I'm not sure about the correct nomenclature, but this links should make it clear:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Desktop_Window_Manager
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/desktop/aa969540(v=vs.85).aspx
Thanks ToutEnMasm :t
Nice example, it seems to be exactly what I need. :biggrin:
I'll study it and test it in my source code.
edit:
Thanks guys for all the input.
this does the job, I'm happy! :eusa_dance:
.if (!m_Windowed)
invoke RenderD3d ; in fullscreen mode
.else
invoke GetClipBox,hDC,addr rcClipBox
.if (eax != NULLREGION)
invoke RenderD3d ; in window mode
.else
invoke Sleep,1
.endif
.endif
F! = toggle fullscreen