The MASM Forum

General => The Campus => Topic started by: xoreaxeax on June 07, 2012, 05:04:33 AM

Title: Rogue in ASM?
Post by: xoreaxeax on June 07, 2012, 05:04:33 AM
I've been reading through Iczelion's tutorials and thought it would be fun to code a rogue/nethack game while trying to learn asm.  Does anyone know if any variant has been done in asm, I wanted to check out some source code to see how they did things like dungeon map generation and the like.  I don't know much C/C++ at all.  Here's what I came up with so far, please suggest any optimizations or coding tricks I can use, thanks for any info!

Title: Re: Rogue in ASM?
Post by: hfheatherfox07 on June 07, 2012, 06:58:27 AM
Have you seen the Pacman game in ASM ?

http://www.phoenixbit.com/site/projects.asp?view=YXNtcGFjbWFu (http://www.phoenixbit.com/site/projects.asp?view=YXNtcGFjbWFu)

Download:
http://www.phoenixbit.com/site/projects/asmpacman/asmpacman.zip (http://www.phoenixbit.com/site/projects/asmpacman/asmpacman.zip)

(http://imagesload.net/img/Pacman.gif)
Title: Re: Rogue in ASM?
Post by: xoreaxeax on June 08, 2012, 04:05:29 AM
OOPS I made some last minute changes to the source code and didn't test it thoroughly enough before uploading and didn't realize it crashes upon startup.  I've since restored some of the changes I made (I tried putting the pointers to the building structures in a seperate memory allocation table instead of the same table of the mobs, don't know why I did it that way in the first place  :redface:).   Here's a more stable revision.

hfheatherfox07: thanks for the info, I hope to pick up some new tricks and techniques from that source code!



Title: Re: Rogue in ASM?
Post by: hfheatherfox07 on June 08, 2012, 06:19:32 AM
well here is another one that I downloaded for you ...I have used it before my self so I know it works
it is in Chinese and used as .res instead of the rsrc.rc   .... if you want the rsrc.rc just use reshacker http://www.angusj.com/resourcehacker/  on the .exe


Title: Re: Rogue in ASM?
Post by: hfheatherfox07 on June 09, 2012, 03:02:32 PM
I like your style ....I think this will help me with converting that 16 matrix.com to a win32
I will do it the same way you do the green "G"'s

Title: Re: Rogue in ASM?
Post by: herge on June 09, 2012, 11:39:19 PM
hi:

put a semi colon on the start of this line in pacman.asm!

invoke ShellExecute,0,ADDR cmd,ADDR webSite,NULL,NULL,SW_SHOW

regards herge

Title: Re: Rogue in ASM?
Post by: Mr Hippy on June 10, 2012, 01:17:54 AM
Quote from: herge on June 09, 2012, 11:39:19 PM
hi:

put a semi colon on the start of this line in pacman.asm!

invoke ShellExecute,0,ADDR cmd,ADDR webSite,NULL,NULL,SW_SHOW

regards herge

I haven't looked st the source code, but I am guessing that stops the browser pop-up to the author's website after closing the game.
Title: Re: Rogue in ASM?
Post by: herge on June 10, 2012, 04:27:41 AM
hi MR Hippy:

Yes it does stop pop-up!

Regards herge
Title: Re: Rogue in ASM?
Post by: vaporlaute on May 17, 2013, 10:56:31 PM
hi there,  i am looking for an idea about pacman in assembler 8086, can you give a hand here...... please, thanks a lot
Title: Re: Rogue in ASM?
Post by: hutch-- on May 18, 2013, 12:06:55 AM
Guys, can you spare us titles with terms like "nethack" in them as it saves me scanning the code and editing the posts. Any flack about this site comes back to me which I cannot allow.
Title: Re: Rogue in ASM?
Post by: anunitu on May 18, 2013, 12:42:58 AM
yes hutch it is kinda sad that Hac*er has gotten such a bad name,it used to be a positive term for an innovative person.
Title: Re: Rogue in ASM?
Post by: Vortex on May 18, 2013, 04:23:29 AM
Trying to download the file :

http://www.phoenixbit.com/site/projects/asmpacman/asmpacman.zip (http://www.phoenixbit.com/site/projects/asmpacman/asmpacman.zip)

QuotePage not found
Title: Re: Rogue in ASM?
Post by: dedndave on May 18, 2013, 06:34:01 AM
http://people.sju.edu/~ggrevera/arch/software/asmpacman.zip (http://people.sju.edu/~ggrevera/arch/software/asmpacman.zip)

it's from ragdog, so we should be able to get a link from him, if he checks in   :P
Title: Re: Rogue in ASM?
Post by: Vortex on May 18, 2013, 05:00:18 PM
Hi Dave,

Thanks for the link.