The MASM Forum

General => The Campus => Topic started by: x64Core on June 11, 2012, 04:17:13 AM

Title: Is possible to read from the Console?
Post by: x64Core on June 11, 2012, 04:17:13 AM
Hello guys, just I want to if is possile to read from the console?
took several hours searching, and I find nothing  :shock: it's impossible?
My last hope is the forum where I know the wisest people in programming  :biggrin:
Title: Re: Is possible to read from the Console?
Post by: qWord on June 11, 2012, 04:21:31 AM
WinAPI: ReadFile,ReadConsole
CRT: scanf,...
MASM32: input$()-macro,StdIn,...
...
Title: Re: Is possible to read from the Console?
Post by: x64Core on June 11, 2012, 04:50:43 AM
 :biggrin: thanks you qWord!  :bgrin:
Title: Re: Is possible to read from the Console?
Post by: Vortex on June 11, 2012, 06:20:47 AM
Hi RHL,

Here is a Simple console piping example (http://www.masmforum.com/board/index.php?topic=18215.0)
Title: Re: Is possible to read from the Console?
Post by: x64Core on June 11, 2012, 07:45:41 AM
Quote from: Vortex on June 11, 2012, 06:20:47 AM
Hi RHL,

Here is a Simple console piping example (http://www.masmforum.com/board/index.php?topic=18215.0)

thanks Vortex, yeah, in really I wanted read, but data are already written on the console, not from the start of a function :P thanks guys
Title: Re: Is possible to read from the Console?
Post by: jj2007 on June 11, 2012, 12:41:52 PM
Here is the old HangMan example (http://www.movsd.com/board/index.php?topic=17936.msg151118#msg151118), demonstrating how to use Locate(x,y) in console mode. Another simple example:

include \masm32\MasmBasic\MasmBasic.inc   ; download (http://masm32.com/board/index.php?topic=94.0)
   Init
   .Repeat
      Let esi=Input$("What's your name? ", "RHL")
      .Break .if word ptr [esi]!="HR"
      Print "I asked for your name, not your nick!", CrLf$
   .Until 0
   Inkey "Hi ", esi, ", how are you?"
   Exit
end start
Title: Re: Is possible to read from the Console?
Post by: KeepingRealBusy on June 11, 2012, 12:52:02 PM
Quote from: RHL on June 11, 2012, 07:45:41 AM
Quote from: Vortex on June 11, 2012, 06:20:47 AM
Hi RHL,

Here is a Simple console piping example (http://www.masmforum.com/board/index.php?topic=18215.0)

thanks Vortex, yeah, in really I wanted read, but data are already written on the console, not from the start of a function :P thanks guys

RHL,

You can read the console output buffer, but only for your console screen, not an arbitrary console screen. See the API for GetConsoleScreenBufferInfo.

Dave.
Title: Re: Is possible to read from the Console?
Post by: jj2007 on June 11, 2012, 01:00:08 PM
It basically boils down to
invoke GetStdHandle, STD_INPUT_HANDLE
...
invoke SetConsoleMode, eax, ENABLE_LINE_INPUT or ENABLE_ECHO_INPUT or ENABLE_PROCESSED_INPUT
...
invoke ReadFile, hInput, pBuffer, bLen, ADDR bRead, NULL