Hello im trying to make a simple menu and i got all my code working except for one the triangle i keep getting this invalid instruction operand and i haven't finish my triangle 3D shape. i was wondering how do i do 3D shape and how do i insert code on GOTO X,Y ? i been alot of problems on my 3D shape.
.386
.model flat, stdcall
option casemap :none
.stack 100h
include \masm32\include\windows.inc
include \masm32\macros\macros.asm
include \masm32\include\msvcrt.inc
include \masm32\include\masm32.inc
include \masm32\include\gdi32.inc
include \masm32\include\user32.inc
include \masm32\include\kernel32.inc
includelib \masm32\lib\msvcrt.lib
includelib \masm32\lib\masm32.lib
includelib \masm32\lib\gdi32.lib
includelib \masm32\lib\user32.lib
includelib \masm32\lib\kernel32.lib
.code
start:
main proc
Local choice: sdword
INVOKE ClearScreen
print chr$(" ----------------------"),0Ah
print chr$(" ----------------------------------"),0Ah
print chr$(" ENTER YOUR CHOICE:"),0Ah
print chr$(" -----------------------------------------"),0Ah
print chr$(" 1.Triangle"),0Ah
print chr$(" 2.Calculator"),0Ah
print chr$(" 3.Prime Numbers"),0Ah
print chr$(" 4.ODD AND EVEN"),0Ah,0Ah
print chr$(" 5.EXIT"),0Ah,0Ah
mov choice, sval(input(" Enter Here: "))
print chr$(" "),0ah,0ah
switch01:
cmp choice,1
je case1
cmp choice,2
je case2
cmp choice,3
je case3
cmp choice,3
je case3
cmp choice,4
je case4
cmp choice,5
je case5
jmp endswitch01
case1:
Call triangle
jmp endswitch01
case2:
Call calcu
jmp endswitch01
case3:
Call prime
jmp endswitch01
case4:
Call odd
jmp endswitch01
case5:
Call xit
endswitch01:
ret
main endp ;END OF MAIN PROCEDURE
triangle proc
Local choice: sdword
Local a: sdword
Local b: sdword
Local tri: sdword
Local triangle1:sdword
mov a,1
.while a <= tri
mov eax,tri
add eax,2
sub eax,a
shr eax,1
mov b,eax
.while b > 0
print chr$(" ")
sub b,1
.endw
mov triangle1,1
.while triangle1 <= a
print chr$("*")
add triangle1,1
.endw
print chr$(13,10)
add a,2
.endw
mov choice, sval(input(" Press Enter to continue... "))
Call main
ret
triangle endp
calcu proc
Local choice: sdword
mov choice, sval(input(" Press Enter to continue... "))
Call main
ret
calcu endp
prime proc
Local choice: sdword
mov choice, sval(input(" Press Enter to continue... "))
Call main
ret
prime endp
odd proc
Local choice: sdword
mov choice, sval(input(" Press Enter to continue... "))
Call main
ret
odd endp
xit proc
exit
xit endp
;exittttttttt
trap proc
;INVOKE ClearScreen
print chr$(" Please Enter the options correctly!!!")
Call main
ret
trap endp
end start
You need registers to compare against a memory operand ( = a variable).
You can use an equate:
triangle proc
...
push esi ; preserve non volatile register (http://www.webalice.it/jj2006/Masm32_Tips_Tricks_and_Traps.htm)
push edi
a equ <esi>
triangle1 equ <edi>
.While a <= tri
...
.While triangle1 <= a
...
pop edi
pop esi
ret
triangle endp
Is there a function like C++ GOTO X,Y in MASM i been trying to figure how to move my triangle in center and give it like 3D effect
Quote from: Gimena on April 01, 2014, 11:14:51 PM
Is there a function like C++ GOTO X,Y in MASM
There is Locate(x, y) (http://www.webalice.it/jj2006/MasmBasicQuickReference.htm#Mb1039). Otherwise, check
SetCursorPos SetConsoleCursorPosition (thanks, Dave :t).
SetConsoleCursorPosition
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/desktop/ms686025%28v=vs.85%29.aspx (http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/desktop/ms686025%28v=vs.85%29.aspx)
notice that the function is passed a COORD structure
for 32-bit masm, it is easier to work with dwords
so, the function is prototyped with 2 dwords in place of COORD in masm32 windows.inc
in the other library, it is prototyped with a COORD
INVOKE SetConsoleCursorPosition,hStdOut,x,y
Excuse me sir dedndave how do i add SetConsoleCursorPosition whenever i add it give me alot of errors and im still got alot to learn about masm32
in your original post, you are missing kernel32.inc
but, the whole thing is easier if you just use masm32rt.inc
INCLUDE \masm32\include\masm32rt.inc
.DATA?
hStdOut HANDLE ?
.CODE
start:
INVOKE GetStdHandle,STD_OUTPUT_HANDLE
mov hStdOut,eax
INVOKE SetConsoleCursorPosition,eax,0A0027h ;X=39, Y=10
print chr$('X')
INVOKE SetConsoleCursorPosition,hStdOut,0C0000h ;X=0, Y=12
inkey
exit
END start
my mistake
i corrected the above code
a COORD structure is 2 words, not 2 dwords
so, you pass the X coordinate in the low word, and the Y coordinate in the high word
Sir dedndave when i tried using the code above i just don't know if its in center when i tried to compile it i just on left side on screen. i just wanna ask is possible to use
invoke locate ? i been reading alot of help code lately and kinda found this invoke locate.
locate is a function in the masm32 library
as you can see, it calls SetConsoleCursorPosition
locate proc x:DWORD,y:DWORD
LOCAL hOutPut :DWORD
LOCAL xyVar :DWORD
invoke GetStdHandle,STD_OUTPUT_HANDLE
mov hOutPut, eax
; -----------------------------------
; make both co-ordinates into a DWORD
; -----------------------------------
mov ecx, x
mov eax, y
shl eax, 16
mov ax, cx
invoke SetConsoleCursorPosition,hOutPut,eax
ret
locate endp
in my example code above, i placed the coordinates into the correct word locations (constants)
INVOKE SetConsoleCursorPosition,eax,0A0027h ;X=39, Y=10
INVOKE SetConsoleCursorPosition,hStdOut,0C0000h ;X=0, Y=12
if you want to try a loop, something like this.....
INCLUDE \masm32\include\masm32rt.inc
.DATA?
hStdOut HANDLE ?
.CODE
start:
INVOKE GetStdHandle,STD_OUTPUT_HANDLE
mov hStdOut,eax
mov esi,4Eh ;start at X=78, Y=0
mov edi,20 ;loop count = 20
loop00:
INVOKE SetConsoleCursorPosition,hStdOut,esi
print chr$('X')
add esi,0FFFEh ;add 1 to Y (10000h) and subtract 2 from X, 10000h-2 = 0FFFEh
dec edi
jnz loop00
INVOKE SetConsoleCursorPosition,hStdOut,180000h ;X=0, Y=24
inkey
exit
END start
Well done, Dave. :t
Gunther
QuoteSir dedndave when i tried using the code above i just don't know if its in center when i tried to compile it i just on left side on screen. i just wanna ask is possible to use
invoke locate ? i been reading alot of help code lately and kinda found this invoke locate.
Sorry my bad i lost track i was trying to figure out it.
i mean how do i insert it on my print when insert it all my code go to center? i just want the triangle to be on the center. i mean wear should i put it the code?
well, the default size of a console window is 80x25
the X and Y location values are 0-based, so 0 to 79 and 0 to 24 are the values to get there
the user can customize the console window
so, it can be other dimensions, although it's almost always 80 columns wide
if you need to get the dimensions, you can use the GetConsoleScreenBufferInfo function
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/desktop/ms683171%28v=vs.85%29.aspx (http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/desktop/ms683171%28v=vs.85%29.aspx)
that function will fill a CONSOLE_SCREEN_BUFFER_INFO structure that has values you want
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/desktop/ms682093%28v=vs.85%29.aspx (http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/desktop/ms682093%28v=vs.85%29.aspx)