include c:\masm32\include\masm32rt.inc ; A good starting point for beginers.
.data
newfile byte 'c:\Users\Administrador\Desktop\Programacion\newone\hello.txt',0
.code
start:
main proc
call make_the_file
call ExitProcess
main endp
make_the_file proc
push 0 ; No template file.
push FILE_ATTRIBUTE_NORMAL ; Normal file
push CREATE_NEW ; Create a new file.
push 0 ; The file handle can't be inherited.
push 0 ; Will not be shared (In runtime).
push GENERIC_WRITE ; For write only.
push offset newfile
call CreateFile ; Windows do the job.
ret
make_the_file endp
end start
So what do you think? (Well it's of course very simple, just for the campus right? ;)).
Another question please: How can i combine the attributes. For example GENERIC_READ and GENERIC_WRITE?
Thanks a lot! :t
You simply 'or' them. Ex.: GENERIC_READ or GENERIC_WRITE
Ray is right here, it is a very common technique in Windows code to have the option of combining styles and in notation form it uses the "or" operator to combine them. When you have long lists of styles which is common when constructing a window, you OR a list of styles together in your code. The assembler actually performs the combination to a single value and places it in the code at the right location.
Another very common technique in Windows is the use of structures and this is a bit different to how 16 bit real mode DOS worked. Most of the system based structures are already defined in the include files so when you have an API function that requires an address of a structure, you either allocate a LOCAL variable for the structure OR if you need to for scope reasons, you can allocate a structure in either the initialised DATA section or the uninitialised DATA? structure.
Thanks both.
Quote from: hutch-- on April 27, 2017, 02:53:29 PM
Most of the system based structures are already defined in the include files so when you have an API function that requires an address of a structure, you either allocate a LOCAL variable for the structure OR if you need to for scope reasons, you can allocate a structure in either the initialised DATA section or the uninitialised DATA? structure.
Questions: 1) That local variable would be a pointer to that defined structure in the include file?
2) Why do you mean for scope reasons?
Hi felipe,
When you make a LOCAL structure, you are allocating the amount of stack space required for the content of the structure.
LOCAL rct :RECT ; a rectangle structure : 4 x DWORD addresses
mov rct.left, 100
mov rct.top, 50
mov rct.right, 400
mov rct.bottom, 250
All 4 item in the structure are written to the stack.
Scope is an easy one, if you only need a variable within a procedure, you allocate it as a LOCAL variable. When you need GLOBAL scope you place the variable in either the .DATA or .DATA? section and it can be accessed from anywhere in the module that it is allocated in.
I understand. One question: Are this elements of the structure pushed in the stack in the same order of the mov instructions?
Get Olly, please - you need a debugger.include \masm32\include\masm32rt.inc
.code
MyTest proc arg1, arg2, arg3, arg4
LOCAL rct :RECT ; a rectangle structure : 4 x DWORD addresses
nop
m2m rct.left, arg1
nop
m2m rct.top, arg2
nop
m2m rct.right, arg3
nop
m2m rct.bottom, arg4
nop
ret
MyTest endp
start:
int 3 ; press F9 in Olly, it will stop here; then continue with F7
invoke MyTest, 11111111h, 22222222h, 33333333h, 44444444h
exit
end start
The disassembly is probably the clearest way to see it.
; ¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤
include \masm32\include\masm32rt.inc
; ¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤
comment * -----------------------------------------------------
Build this template with
"CONSOLE ASSEMBLE AND LINK"
----------------------------------------------------- *
.code
start:
; ¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤
call main
inkey
exit
; ¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤
main proc
call teststruct
ret
main endp
; ¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤
teststruct proc
LOCAL rct :RECT
mov rct.left, 100
mov rct.top, 50
mov rct.right, 400
mov rct.bottom, 250
ret
teststruct endp
; ¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤
end start
comment * -----------------------------------------------------------------
0040102B fn_0040102B:
0040102B 55 push ebp
0040102C 8BEC mov ebp,esp ; set up the stack frame
0040102E 83C4F0 add esp,0FFFFFFF0h ; allocate 16 bytes of stack space
; this can also be done as sub esp, 16
; ----------------------------------------
; write each value to the structure member
; ----------------------------------------
00401031 C745F064000000 mov dword ptr [ebp-10h],64h
00401038 C745F432000000 mov dword ptr [ebp-0Ch],32h
0040103F C745F890010000 mov dword ptr [ebp-8],190h
00401046 C745FCFA000000 mov dword ptr [ebp-4],0FAh
0040104D C9 leave ; clean up the stack frame
0040104E C3 ret
* -------------------------------------------------------------------------
Importantly you can see that the 4 struct members are written in memory order so if you need to you can assume that one follows the other in memory.
I have olly as a separate installation, i would like to have it integrated with masm (but i was thinking that masm32 comes with his own debuger). I want to learn use olly really well, but i haven't yet started that task.
I did understand how the stack looks like with those items on it. And in wich order (as you say, like in the normal memory order). Of course ebp it's the right register to use when you want to access the stack in that way (from down to top).
Thanks a lot, to both. :t
Quote from: felipe on April 29, 2017, 12:32:29 AMI have olly as a separate installation, i would like to have it integrated with masm
See Integrated debugging (http://masm32.com/board/index.php?topic=5314.msg63302#msg63302). If you need symbols, too, PM me for the necessary settings.
jj2007 i appreciate your interest, but i don't want to change qeditor for richmasm. Thanks anyway. :icon14:
No problem :biggrin:
You could add a batch file to qEditor's menus, and launch Olly from that file.
hey Felipe,
You don't need to change it. you could use both as I do. They are very compatible with each other.
Just my 2 cents
ps: JJ, please don't forget to send me the check ::)
Quote from: jj2007 on April 29, 2017, 02:08:36 AM
No problem :biggrin:
You could add a batch file to qEditor's menus, and launch Olly from that file.
Thanks a lot man, i'm gonna prove that! :biggrin:
Quote from: LordAdef on April 29, 2017, 02:13:43 AMps: JJ, please don't forget to send me the check ::)
Damnit, in this forum I can't delete your posts :eusa_snooty:
If olly accepts a command line file, just make a menu entry that calls olly and pass the file name to it.
Ok, thanks Hutch.