I can't find anything more to do on this application, interface is finished, divide by 0 works OK and I have set the number size limit to 999999999999999.9 (16 digits) so that it works with the VC runtime conversion. Left column of buttons are 4 more or less useful constants, pi, euler, square root of 2 and the Golden constant with the symbol phi.
Number pad is normal 2 operation logic x operator x = type results, the right column has one operation logic, insert a number and click on one to get the result. There is a precision setting to control the truncation level.
Source is a bit messy as there are a lot of interface bits to handle but it is readable.
Download the final version here. http://masm32.com/board/index.php?topic=7477.msg81745#new
Hey hutch, don't know why nobody has commented this work from you, but i have tested it a little bit and (although i have to admit that i don't work with mathematics and so i didn't tested in great extension, mainly because i don't use a calculator every day) i think you have done a great work with this project. Seriously, nice interface and everything else, congratulations! and thanks for sharing it! :t :icon14: :greenclp:
:biggrin:
Glad somebody liked it. :P
Pro: The user interface is nice.
Con: Settings don't stick across sessions. 2 buttons to tell "Isn't MASM Beautiful" is too much.
:biggrin:
:biggrin:
The next version will store the settings, I just ran out of time to keep working on it. The extra "?" was purely an interface balance issue.
keyboard numpad VK_DECIMAL handling ?
EDIT: It isn't always a '.', for me it's ',' ;)
Nice and easy to read interface.
Would it be possible to add negative numbers functionality by adding a sign toggle button: "±" ? ( ascii code 241 )
Marinus,
I am not sure what you are after, normal calculations easily go down below zero, usually divides and subs will do that as will the "1/x" calculation. Have I missed something here ?
Sorry Timo, I know that some countries use "," instead of "." but it makes a messy OS version detect, maybe a setting to swap them later.
Isn't that virtual keycode in WM_KEYUP same in every Windows OS , or is keyboard driver some how broken in some languages?
QuoteVK_DECIMAL 0x6E Numpad .
Quote from: hutch-- on October 17, 2018, 01:41:43 AM
Marinus,
I am not sure what you are after, normal calculations easily go down below zero, usually divides and subs will do that as will the "1/x" calculation. Have I missed something here ?
e.g. you want to do this calculation:
-10 / 3
Your input will be 10 and then press "±" to make it -10 and then divide it by 3 = -3.3333333333333333
Else you can not use the calculator with negative input numbers.
The only operation is, toggle the sign bit from + to - and vice versa.
OK, I have got it. How to enter a negative number, either from the keypad OR directly into the edit control.
To me it's more logical to use the "±" button when the number is already in the edit control so you can change the sign whenever you want.
This way you can continue calculations and change the sign when you need to.
I think I have 2 of the problems solved, I used the position of the "?" button for the sign change button and it seems to be working correctly. I have not done the saving of the settings yet as there may be more options to have to add to an INI file. I think I know how to do the mod that Timo mentioned which will involve some extra controls in the settings box and saving an INI file but I have not worked it all out yet.
VK_DECIMAL is floppy (depends on the keyboard and/or on the running application) - can't be trusted. It is not a driver issue - drivers know nothing about locales.
The problem should have been spelled as a LOCALE_SDECIMAL question not a VK_DECIMAL question.
So, the procedure shall be: 1) use GetLocaleInfo to know which characters (up to 4!) represent the decimal symbol. Replace them on the entered string with a period. Make the calculations. Finally, when showing the result proceed the other way around.
Quote from: AW on October 17, 2018, 06:44:18 PM
VK_DECIMAL is floppy (depends on the keyboard and/or on the running application) - can't be trusted. It is not a driver issue - drivers know nothing about locales.
In what way?
It should be good enough for the normal user using a normal extended keyboard.
I was after a keyboard usage, not how to show numbers.
EDIT: false statistics removed. :P
Timo,
What I will do is add a setting so that the user has the choice, its a bit messy but I think it can be done. What I don't know yet is if the VC runtime conversion I am using will accept "," rather than ".". I can change it on the fly both ways but it would be no joy to do.
Quote from: TimoVJL on October 17, 2018, 08:34:18 PM
Quote from: AW on October 17, 2018, 06:44:18 PM
VK_DECIMAL is floppy (depends on the keyboard and/or on the running application) - can't be trusted. It is not a driver issue - drivers know nothing about locales.
In what way?
If it works about in 99% cases, it should be good enough for normal user.
I was after a keyboard usage, not how to show numbers.
It very rarely works. Usually work in Excel does not work in Notepad. There are mentions on that on the internet, if you bother to use a search engine, instead of inventing statistics.
Ok, it depends of NumLock state, without NumLock that key have value 2Eh Del.
I shall remove that false statistics.
Not a question of NUMLOCK, if NUMLOCK is OFF it deletes the character as expected :shock:, if NUMLOCK is ON it frequently prints a period even in a non-US keyboard with the locale set for decimal character being a comma. :shock:
All depends on the keyboard hardware and/or on the application handling. :t
Does not work in Notepad but works in Calculator when I define the decimal separator as ☺.
(https://www.dropbox.com/s/ss7k3xwypp9iayo/calculator2.jpg?dl=1)
That's all Folks!
Testing more potential decimal separators to be used with VK_DECIMAL
☺ ☻
Other cool Unicode chars can't be posted on this board (strange)
I can post one like this .
Nope, I can't - it shows in Preview but does not post. May be Mikl__, the icons expert, knows how to do it.
Example to switch numpad comma to period.
GetLocaleInfo(LOCALE_USER_DEFAULT, LOCALE_SDECIMAL, szDes, 4);
...
LRESULT CALLBACK NewEditProc(HWND hWnd, UINT uMsg, WPARAM wParam, LPARAM lParam)
{
switch(uMsg) {
case WM_CHAR:
if (wParam == ',') return 0;
break;
case WM_KEYUP:
if (wParam == VK_DECIMAL) {
if (szDes[0] != '.')
PostMessage(hWnd, WM_CHAR, '.', 0);
return 0;
}
break;
}
return OldEditProc(hWnd, uMsg, wParam, lParam);
}
EDIT: that msvcrt locale issue for user language: setlocale(LC_NUMERIC, "");
but then the constants needs to fix.
EDIT: useless code removed: uMsg == WM_KEYUP &&
It is interesting that in Windows (8.1 and 10, does not work in Windows 7 and below) we can have UTF-32 decimal separators. However, neither Calculator, nor Excel are able to render it when we press the VK_DECIMAL button on the NumPad - Shame! :dazzled:. Probably they will do it in Windows 11. :biggrin:
I post here a demo where an edit box prints the Mizaru (the wize monkey that covers his head) Unicode symbol when we press the VK_DECIMAL button on the NumPad. I include only the .exe and leave this a challenge for someone to elaborate on the subject (UTF-32, after BMP - Basic Multilingual Plane).
The demo saves the existing decimal separator character and sets Mizaru as decimal separator. When closing the application the original decimal separator is restored - so it is clean.
BTW, the demo is a little sized because was developed in Pascal for speed.
(https://www.dropbox.com/s/6bu02f95rkile85/vkdecimal.jpg?dl=1)
BTW, this SMF forum board does not accept as well posts with UTF-32 characters - this explains the problems I had yesterday.
Quote from: hutch-- on October 17, 2018, 08:54:06 PM
Timo,
What I will do is add a setting so that the user has the choice, its a bit messy but I think it can be done. What I don't know yet is if the VC runtime conversion I am using will accept "," rather than ".". I can change it on the fly both ways but it would be no joy to do.
use
setlocale(LC_NUMERIC, "");
and with sprintf(tmp, "%f", 1.2) you can verify that decimal separator, that you need for edit control subclassing.
EDIT: someone trusted user in this site have to confirm that, as i am just a hobbyist programmer.
EDIT: msvcrt.dll: C programmers can get decimal separator with: char cDS = **(char**)localeconv();
call localeconv
mov rax, qword ptr [rax]
mov al, byte ptr [rax]
move byte ptr [cDS], al
Timo,
It will have to wait for the next one, the structure of the app is too complicated to try and change it and it would go back through every part down to the library modules. It already has a busy subclass for the rich edit control which is controlled by keystrokes but the main complexity in the app is the interface, the maths is reasonably simple. I have the settings working fine as the app was designed in the first place for it.
Ok,
as sprintf() and sscanf() follows that locale settings, only the edit subclass code needs to check if decimal separator is not the '.' and change that accepted chars?
Am i right, experts shall check it.
Those constant also as being string needs a special handling after that.
I think its cleaner and simpler to make a setting as you can simply change the method of separation with optional code based of a simple flag. This app was written with multiple locations writing to the edit control and it would have been easier to write a new app than try and redesign the existing one. With a new app, isolating the text entry input to a single procedure would make it much simpler to handle the difference by a simple setting.
Quote from: TimoVJL on October 18, 2018, 07:40:05 AM
Example to switch numpad comma to period.
GetLocaleInfo(LOCALE_USER_DEFAULT, LOCALE_SDECIMAL, szDes, 4);
...
LRESULT CALLBACK NewEditProc(HWND hWnd, UINT uMsg, WPARAM wParam, LPARAM lParam)
{
switch(uMsg) {
case WM_CHAR:
if (wParam == ',') return 0;
break;
case WM_KEYUP:
if (wParam == VK_DECIMAL) {
if (uMsg == WM_KEYUP && szDes[0] != '.')
PostMessage(hWnd, WM_CHAR, '.', 0);
return 0;
}
break;
}
return OldEditProc(hWnd, uMsg, wParam, lParam);
}
1)
You should check for VK_DECIMAL on the WM_KEYDOWN case statment not on the WM_KEYUP, and set a flag to be looked at in the WM_CHAR case statement. The way you put it does not appear to work (in addition to be clunky). People would expect you to test the code you post, we don't need experts providing untested tips and ask others to check if they work or not.
2)
switch(uMsg){
...
case WM_KEYUP:
...
if (uMsg == WM_KEYUP // Does this mean that uMsg might be not WM_KEYUP here?
Take care.
Hutch - some questions :
1) My VS2008 ML64, truly not understand what is it :
msgloop proc
USING r14,r15
- looks, like mought bo so :
msgloop proc USES r14 r15
2) also it not understand xmm registers, as .XMM - not works in it, so I changed all computations on FPU - but example of SSE anyway is excellent
3) default font charset - better avoid, as it looks not well on me, so better to local procedure :
font_handle - CreateFont,fHgt,0,0,0,fWgt,0,0,0,ANSI_CHARSET
4) and focus on edit, I used to put by mouse :
invoke SendMessage,hEdit,EM_SETMARGINS,EC_LEFTMARGIN or EC_RIGHTMARGIN,eax
invoke SetFocus, hEdit
Use a later version of MASM. The old ones will not do the later stuff. It looks like you tried to build the app without the correct files and libraries available. Unless you have downloaded the most recent version of the MASM64 project here you cannot build it. This means both the latest macro file, the latest MASM64 libraries and to build them you need a reasonably recent version of ML64, LINK and RC as binaries.
I got the latest with the VS Build tools which was a bit over 1 gig.
I don't know what OS version you are running and further, did the original executable run on your machine ?