The MASM Forum

General => The Workshop => Topic started by: daydreamer on May 01, 2020, 04:45:34 AM

Title: annoying GDI text,too narrow spaces
Post by: daydreamer on May 01, 2020, 04:45:34 AM
Hi
drawtext and textout,draws too thin " " ,but in db's in editor its form a rectangular text
if I replace with "X____________X" instead I get the right number
I use a loop to go thru all text lines
Title: Re: annoying GDI text,too narrow spaces
Post by: hutch-- on May 01, 2020, 07:38:54 AM
SetTextCharacterExtra()
Title: Re: annoying GDI text,too narrow spaces
Post by: daydreamer on May 02, 2020, 03:14:52 AM
Quote from: hutch-- on May 01, 2020, 07:38:54 AM
SetTextCharacterExtra()
thanks worked some
Title: Re: annoying GDI text,too narrow spaces
Post by: Manos on May 02, 2020, 04:52:52 AM
Use: ExtTextOut
It is better.

Manos.
Title: Re: annoying GDI text,too narrow spaces
Post by: daydreamer on May 02, 2020, 05:06:57 AM
Quote from: Manos on May 02, 2020, 04:52:52 AM
Use: ExtTextOut
It is better.

Manos.
thanks,I try that
was temporary stuck on different bug,not redrawing at all
Title: Re: annoying GDI text,too narrow spaces
Post by: daydreamer on May 14, 2020, 02:15:35 AM
Any way to control what extended ascii part shows?
It don't show anything useful right now
Title: Re: annoying GDI text,too narrow spaces
Post by: Manos on May 14, 2020, 06:38:00 PM
Go there:
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/win32/api/wingdi/nf-wingdi-exttextouta

Manos.
Title: Re: annoying GDI text,too narrow spaces
Post by: daydreamer on May 20, 2020, 07:31:12 AM
looks like SetTextCharacterExtra() also works on drawtext

mov eax,rv(TextOutW,hDC,400,400,ebx,20)
doesnt output hiragana/katakana/cjk unicode,just "A - - - - - - - - "
using

testuni dw 041h,03041h,03a1h,04070h,04060h,04050h,04040h,04030h,04020h,04010h
        dw 040f0h,040e0h,040d0h
        dw 040c0h,040b0h,040a0h,04190h,04101h,04102h,04103h,04104h
        dw 0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0

[code]
mov eax,rv(DrawTextW,hDC,ebx,20,ADDR txtrect, DT_NOCLIP);
works for A,hiragana,katakana?,cjk unicode

textoutw too old interface on win10?
Title: Re: annoying GDI text,too narrow spaces
Post by: daydreamer on June 05, 2020, 03:58:48 AM
its very easy to have simplified code compared to C with settextcolor and setBKcolor
instead of get/set combo to save/restore the previous color(s),its just
Settextcolor....
push eax ;returns old color
setBKcolor
push eax ;returns old color
......section that draws text
pop eax
setbkcolor(eax)
pop eax
setbkcolor(eax)

also tried out simpler use of Messagebox return without use variable to return in C
if(MessageBox(message,caption,MB_YESNO)==ID_YES){
//yescode here
}
else {
//nocode here
}
}
Title: Re: annoying GDI text,too narrow spaces
Post by: jj2007 on June 05, 2020, 06:53:02 AM
Check your API calls... they don't look correct. Besides, it should be done like this:

include \masm32\MasmBasic\Res\MbGui.asm
Event Paint
  push rv(SetTextColor, PtDC, Red)
  push PtDC
  push rv(SetBkColor, PtDC, Blue)
  push PtDC
  invoke TextOut, PtDC, 20, 20, Chr$("Hello World"), 11
  call SetBkColor
  call SetTextColor 
GuiEnd
Title: Re: annoying GDI text,too narrow spaces
Post by: daydreamer on June 06, 2020, 02:37:05 AM
Quote from: jj2007 on June 05, 2020, 06:53:02 AM
Check your API calls... they don't look correct. Besides, it should be done like this:

include \masm32\MasmBasic\Res\MbGui.asm
Event Paint
  push rv(SetTextColor, PtDC, Red)
  push PtDC
  push rv(SetBkColor, PtDC, Blue)
  push PtDC
  invoke TextOut, PtDC, 20, 20, Chr$("Hello World"), 11
  call SetBkColor
  call SetTextColor 
GuiEnd

That's great solution  :thumbsup:
I have some separate proc's that draw gdi, and have hdc as argument
So maybe it could somehow be used for first gdi call,because it's already on stack
Title: annoying GDI
Post by: daydreamer on June 08, 2020, 03:54:34 AM
I want you to test these on different machines
Title: Re: annoying GDI text,too narrow spaces
Post by: HSE on June 08, 2020, 06:48:54 AM
2020 is drawing over statusbar.

Flickering is very good  :biggrin:
Title: Re: annoying GDI text,too narrow spaces
Post by: daydreamer on June 09, 2020, 01:51:13 AM
Quote from: HSE on June 08, 2020, 06:48:54 AM
2020 is drawing over statusbar.

Flickering is very good  :biggrin:
next step hardware acceleration maybe,well reduce to drawing
beside the arrow keys there are tests controlling lvl change +-,rightclick and various keys tests popup messages,also possible to use flute to return to lvl0(surface)