Hi
I am wondering about strange behavior when getting the size of records (bit fields).
The following code
TEST_BITS_001 record BITS_001:001
TEST_BITS_008 record BITS_008:008
TEST_BITS_016 record BITS_016:016
TEST_BITS_032 record BITS_032:032
TEST_BITS_064 record BITS_064:064
TEST_BITS_128 record BITS_128:128
%echo $ToStr(%sizeof(TEST_BITS_001))
%echo $ToStr(%sizeof(TEST_BITS_008))
%echo $ToStr(%sizeof(TEST_BITS_016))
%echo $ToStr(%sizeof(TEST_BITS_032))
%echo $ToStr(%sizeof(TEST_BITS_064))
%echo $ToStr(%sizeof(TEST_BITS_128))
returns
1
1
2
4
8
128
All of these values seem to be coherent except for the last one, which should be 128/8 = 16.
UASM Version 2.52, 32 bit
Biterider
Hi Biterider!!
Yes, is wrong :thumbsup:
/* now calc size in bytes and set the bit positions */
if ( cntBits > 16 ) {
if ( cntBits > 64 ) {
newr->sym.total_size = 128 ; <<<<<< must say 16
newr->sym.mem_type = MT_OWORD;
} else
if ( cntBits > 32 ) {
newr->sym.total_size = sizeof( uint_64 );
newr->sym.mem_type = MT_QWORD;
} else {
newr->sym.total_size = sizeof( uint_32 );
newr->sym.mem_type = MT_DWORD;
}
} else if ( cntBits > 8 ) {
newr->sym.total_size = sizeof( uint_16 );
newr->sym.mem_type = MT_WORD;
} else {
newr->sym.total_size = sizeof( uint_8 );
newr->sym.mem_type = MT_BYTE;
}
Regards, HSE.
Hi HSE
I didn't know you were familiar with the UASM source code. :thumbsup:
I hope John continues to support UASM.
Biterider
Hi Biterider!
Quote from: Biterider on October 30, 2021, 05:00:17 PM
I didn't know you were familiar with the UASM source code. :thumbsup:
:biggrin: Not really, just a reminder of building assemblers that work with long source code lines.
Quote from: Biterider on October 30, 2021, 05:00:17 PM
I hope John continues to support UASM.
UASM developers can't say they don't have time to find the error :biggrin:
Regards, HSE.
Hi HSE
I think it might be interesting to know whether the parallel developments (e.g. asmc) that have a common code base are also affected.
Biterider
Hi Biterider!
AsmC I'm using say: 1 1 2 4 1 1 😀
Regards, HSE
Hi HSE
Thanks for testing. It seems that there is a similar bug in asmc as well. :rolleyes:
Nidud might be interested in correcting it too.
Biterider
deleted
Hi nidud
Thanks for the clarification.
Although your list of results appears to be missing a "2", the case is clear.
Biterider
Hi,
I've added this fix into the v2.53 branch.
I've been away from UASM for some time, but I do check in here frequently to make sure nothing catastrophic has occurred :)
There are a few other open issues on GitHub for 2.53 I'd like to fix and I'll compile binaries.
Thank you John! :thumbsup:
Biterider