Author Topic: Intel 64bit only architecture  (Read 439 times)


jj2007

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13944
  • Assembly is fun ;-)
    • MasmBasic
Re: Intel 64bit only architecture
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2023, 10:35:53 PM »
I could live without the 16-bit instructions, of course. Interestingly enough, they are not verbose about 32-bit support. Looking at my Win7-64 task manager's process list, it's pretty obvious that they would run into problems if they dropped support for 32-bit applications...

zedd151

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1957
Re: Intel 64bit only architecture
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2023, 11:22:00 PM »
I don't see that (64 bit only) coming any time soon. Probably will happen eventually though.
I believe that the usefulness of 32 bit architecture will outlast us old fogeys.  :tongue:


The next generation of computing will be something altogether different... quantum computing. 😁 Free from all of the pitfalls and issues of today's hardware based systems. ... That said, how would one go about programming in the quantum age?   :badgrin: 
Regards, zedd.
:tongue:

C3

  • Regular Member
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: Intel 64bit only architecture
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2023, 03:25:00 AM »
Hello,

Did you miss that Windows 11 is only for 64bit, as it begun with Window XP 64bit Edition. To run 32bit software it is more like a emulation what it does. I do like MASM32, but I'm rather doing MASM64.

InfiniteLoop

  • Regular Member
  • *
  • Posts: 44
Re: Intel 64bit only architecture
« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2023, 06:30:48 AM »
The legacy bloat should have been cut 20 years ago.

They should move to 16kb pages too.

jj2007

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13944
  • Assembly is fun ;-)
    • MasmBasic
Re: Intel 64bit only architecture
« Reply #5 on: May 22, 2023, 06:58:26 AM »
To run 32bit software it is more like a emulation what it does

Oh, really?

zedd151

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1957
Re: Intel 64bit only architecture
« Reply #6 on: May 22, 2023, 07:24:35 AM »
... Did you miss that Windows 11 is only for 64bit ...
I did not miss that point. Also me: I do not miss Windows 11 one bit either, nor Windows 10 for that matter. Yuck!  :tongue:
If it weren't for too many driver issues (or unavailability of same) I'd still be on Windows xp.  :biggrin:
Regards, zedd.
:tongue:

C3

  • Regular Member
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: Intel 64bit only architecture
« Reply #7 on: May 23, 2023, 02:30:16 AM »
To run 32bit software it is more like a emulation what it does

Oh, really?

"On 64-bit Windows, 32-bit programs run in an emulation layer, and if you don’t like that, then don’t use the emulator"
By: Raymond Chen

https://devblogs.microsoft.com/oldnewthing/20081222-00/?p=19763

jj2007

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13944
  • Assembly is fun ;-)
    • MasmBasic
Re: Intel 64bit only architecture
« Reply #8 on: May 23, 2023, 04:59:35 AM »
Mostly correct, except the "virtualizing the CPU" part. If it really was an emulation, 32-bit programs would run ten times slower than 64-bit programs. Check The Laboratory: they often run faster than their 64-bit counterparts.

You will often see that "WOW64 is the x86 emulator". Bulls*t. Wow64 gives access to 64-bit OS functions, but the code runs in native 32-bit mode. At cpu level, it's not an emulation.

TimoVJL

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1318
May the source be with you

daydreamer

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2395
  • my kind of REAL10 Blonde
Re: Intel 64bit only architecture
« Reply #10 on: May 25, 2023, 01:14:16 AM »
first time I read Wow64 I thought of World of Warcraft 64 bit version
Mostly correct, except the "virtualizing the CPU" part. If it really was an emulation, 32-bit programs would run ten times slower than 64-bit programs. Check The Laboratory: they often run faster than their 64-bit counterparts.
with 20+years experience in 32bit coding/optimizing and few years 64bit coding,will it stay that way?
I think if we develop x64 optimizing skill it might change how much faster 32bit vs 64bit ?
if you run something in 32bit it is limited to 3.8gb brings it to a halt or pause to load/save data,while x64 with 64gb keeps running alot longer,well best advantage is utilize 32 cores SIMT that each need much memory,3.8gb/32 =100+mb "duckponds"  :tongue:

the first tomhardware link meantions new produced 386's,but thats too little instruction set for most 32bit games
 
my none asm creations
http://masm32.com/board/index.php?topic=6937.msg74303#msg74303
I am an Invoker
"An Invoker is a mage who specializes in the manipulation of raw and elemental energies."
Like SIMD coding

jj2007

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13944
  • Assembly is fun ;-)
    • MasmBasic

HSE

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2494
  • AMD 7-32 / i3 10-64
Equations in Assembly: SmplMath

daydreamer

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2395
  • my kind of REAL10 Blonde
Re: Intel 64bit only architecture
« Reply #13 on: May 26, 2023, 05:24:14 PM »
Isnt one thing less bits = can fit more unrolls in cacheline?
If you can run 16bit native: can fit even more in cache because 2 byte sized adresses ?
my none asm creations
http://masm32.com/board/index.php?topic=6937.msg74303#msg74303
I am an Invoker
"An Invoker is a mage who specializes in the manipulation of raw and elemental energies."
Like SIMD coding

greenozon

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: Intel 64bit only architecture
« Reply #14 on: May 27, 2023, 03:47:24 AM »
any ETA predictions for 128 bit CPUs?..  :greenclp: