News:

Masm32 SDK description, downloads and other helpful links
Message to All Guests

Main Menu

AVX code to calculate sum of array or sum of squares of array

Started by Mark44, February 20, 2014, 05:44:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mark44

Hi all! Brand new member here, but have had an interest in assembly programming for a long time. I just retired in December from a large software firm in Redmond, WA, where I worked as a programming writer for 15 years. Now that I'm retired, I'm able to spend time on whatever interests me, which at the moment is finding out the capabilities of the new computer I just bought. The CPU is an Intel i-7 (Ivy Bridge), so supports SSE up to 4.2 and AVX but not AVX2.

For my own amusement I've been poking around with these technologies, first using inline assembly in C code, and more recently using the MASM that comes with Visual Studio 10, including ml64.

Here is some 64-bit assembly code that uses AVX and other instructions to calculate either the sum of the array passed to it, or the sum of the squares of the array passed to it.  The routine loads 16 floats at a time, starting at 16 floats from the end of the array, and works its way to the front of the array. The code assumes that the array has some multiple of 16 elements in it, and that it is aligned on a 32 byte boundary.

The code shown here runs and produces correct results. I've written a simple, crude timing routine (using rdtscp) but haven't used it on this code, yet. If you have any comments about the code, let me know.

Mark

.data

zero dd 4 dup(0)
.code
sum_of_x_squared PROC C
; C prototype: float sum_of_x_squared(float * inputArray, int array_len_minus_16, int flag)
; The sum_of_x_squared proc returns either the sum of the elements of a passed array or
; the sum of the squares of the elements of the passed array. What is returned is determined by
; the value of the third parameter: 0 for sum of elements, 1 for sum of squares of elements.