Masm32 SDK description, downloads and other helpful links
Message to All Guests

Main Menu

New member - newbie in need of help

Started by dannykim92, December 03, 2016, 11:41:37 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

dannykim92

Hello everyone,

I'm an assembly newbie taking an assembly language course at my uni right now. I joined the forum because I am writing a program that I have been stuck on for two days. I have read through the rules of the forum and I am not looking for someone to do the work for me. If someone could point me in the right direction, I'd really appreciate it as I have spent all day trying to figure out what is wrong with my code. I am using Visual Studio 2015. I have attached my project.zip file to this post which also includes the prompt for the program (Prog06A.pdf).

Whenever I compile my program it outputs "4219222" (even with different inputs) with added 0's for each time I go through the convertToString loop. I thought that the issue might be with the way I am using indirect addressing, leading to an address printing repeatedly but I looked through the code and couldn't find anything amiss. After some thought, I don't think that would be the issue because an address would be printed in hexadecimal, no?

If you need any other information please let me know and thank you for any help!

rrr314159

Welcome danny,

Unfortunately I don't use Visual Studio so can't help you, at least, not as easily as those who do. But I can tell you, that does sound like an address and your guess may well be right. You have to tell it specifically to print an address (or any number) in hex. No doubt your print statement, which shouldn't be printing this address, doesn't use hex specification, but integer.
I am NaN ;)

jj2007

INCLUDE Irvine32.inc

Most of us don't have this include file (this is very old stuff...). You could zip it and post it here, if you really want somebody debug this code.