Author Topic: 2002 version qe 3.5 technicolor  (Read 944 times)

hutch--

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 7618
  • Mnemonic Driven API Grinder
    • The MASM32 SDK
2002 version qe 3.5 technicolor
« on: February 21, 2020, 10:55:30 PM »
I spent some hours tracking down the bug in the technicolor version of QE that was written back when I used Win98se. It was written in PowerBASIC before the next version was written in MASM and while it seems to run OK, it is neither supported nor recommended and it may have bugs in it. It was only ever a BETA for me to test syntax colouring and was never a release version.
hutch at movsd dot com
http://www.masm32.com    :biggrin:  :skrewy:

HSE

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1407
  • <AMD>< 7-32>
Re: 2002 version qe 3.5 technicolor
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2020, 11:31:59 PM »
 :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin:  That's technicolor!

And JJ it's right. Even in this old machine is hard to see a delay loading 1 MB file, and loading 4 MB file take only a blink .

jj2007

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10654
  • Assembler is fun ;-)
    • MasmBasic
Re: 2002 version qe 3.5 technicolor
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2020, 12:24:13 AM »
Works fine :thumbsup: And \Masm32\include\windows.inc is always a good test candidate ;-)

daydreamer

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1387
  • building nextdoor
Re: 2002 version qe 3.5 technicolor
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2020, 02:44:04 AM »
thanks Hutch,looks great :thumbsup:
already written SSE test piece
I get weird bug,build and start ends in .exe that it looks like it doesnt start any .exe isnt seen and is found when pressing alt-ctrl-delete I find it among background processes and I have to shut it down
« Last Edit: February 22, 2020, 05:13:52 AM by daydreamer »
Quote from Flashdance
Nick  :  When you give up your dream, you die
*wears a flameproof asbestos suit*
Gone serverside programming p:  :D
I love assembly,because its legal to write
princess:lea eax,luke
:)

Vortex

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2377
Re: 2002 version qe 3.5 technicolor
« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2020, 07:26:06 AM »
Hi Hutch,

Nice work :thumbsup:

hutch--

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 7618
  • Mnemonic Driven API Grinder
    • The MASM32 SDK
Re: 2002 version qe 3.5 technicolor
« Reply #5 on: February 22, 2020, 04:56:21 PM »
Magnus,

It means your exe is not running or closing properly, when it finishes running it remains in memory. You really need to get the executable to run correctly, then do the fast stuff.
hutch at movsd dot com
http://www.masm32.com    :biggrin:  :skrewy:

HSE

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1407
  • <AMD>< 7-32>
Re: 2002 version qe 3.5 technicolor
« Reply #6 on: February 22, 2020, 09:41:34 PM »
I get weird bug,build and start ends in .exe that it looks like it doesnt start any .exe isnt seen and is found when pressing alt-ctrl-delete I find it among background processes and I have to shut it down
Using automatic building sometimes I build a console program with windows linking (or viceversa) and that kind of thing happen. :biggrin:

hutch--

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 7618
  • Mnemonic Driven API Grinder
    • The MASM32 SDK
Re: 2002 version qe 3.5 technicolor
« Reply #7 on: February 23, 2020, 12:32:15 AM »
Magnus,

Where the app is supposed to end, put 2 lines of code, the first with a MessageBox to show that you got there, the second with an ExitProcess() to close the app properly. If you don't see the MessageBox, it is crashing before exit.
hutch at movsd dot com
http://www.masm32.com    :biggrin:  :skrewy:

daydreamer

  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1387
  • building nextdoor
Re: 2002 version qe 3.5 technicolor
« Reply #8 on: February 23, 2020, 03:01:51 AM »
Magnus,

Where the app is supposed to end, put 2 lines of code, the first with a MessageBox to show that you got there, the second with an ExitProcess() to close the app properly. If you don't see the MessageBox, it is crashing before exit.
I used a different version of qeditor which had prostart and switched,its solved by I run bat file and click on .exe instead of the menu choices build all and run and now it works
but .bat file uses polink instead

Quote from Flashdance
Nick  :  When you give up your dream, you die
*wears a flameproof asbestos suit*
Gone serverside programming p:  :D
I love assembly,because its legal to write
princess:lea eax,luke
:)