Masm32 SDK description, downloads and other helpful links
Message to All Guests
NB: Posting URL's See here: Posted URL Change

Main Menu

Number confusion

Started by NoCforMe, May 26, 2024, 06:19:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

NoCforMe

I've been programming for what, 40 years or so? But I still get stumped by what should be stupid simple things.

Like twos-complement representation of numbers.

OK, in another thread we were discussing how to take the absolute value of a number. I posted this well-known method (I think I saw it in one of Raymond Chen's blog posts):
    cdq
    xor    eax, edx
    sub    eax, edx
It seems to work. However, it also seems to fail on at least one value:
abs(2147483647) (7FFFFFFFh) = 2147483647
abs(-2147483648) (80000000h) = -2147483648
abs(-2147483647) (80000001h) = 2147483647
abs(-2147483646) (80000002h) = 2147483646
OK, review for dummies (me) here:
  • The largest signed 32-bit number is 2147483647, right?
  • The smallest signed 32-bit number is -2147483648, right?

So why does this abs() method fail on that smallest value?
It works on the next-largest value (-2147483647).
I'm using wsprintf() to display this stuff, using %d for the decimal values. So is it 1) showing the wrong value for abs(-2147483648), or 2) is my abs() failing on this value?

Signed,
Puzzled
Assembly language programming should be fun. That's why I do it.

NoCforMe

OK, glimmer of understanding here:
If we're trying to take abs(-2147483648), that means the expected result will be 2147483648, right?
Except that that's larger than the largest valid signed 32-bit number (2147483647). So we can't do that.
So how is it that we cannot get the absolute value of the smallest signed 32-bit number? Doesn't that leave a hole in the whole scheme?

I can make it "work" in my testbed program by using %u instead of %d to display the result. But that's cheating, right?

All this signed/unsigned business is making my head spin ...

NoCforMe