Converting MASM611 programs to MASM3211

Started by MtheK, July 16, 2013, 02:12:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MtheK

I've been coding MASM programs since 1990, and IBM MainFrame ASM
since 1973. I recently converted all of my MASM programs from 16bit/
.MODEL SMALL/INT21h to 32bit/.MODEL FLAT/WIN32 API. For example:

http://users.foxvalley.net/~qcd/index4.htm

the DSNTODAY system, which can detect recently-implanted executables.

First, I changed my source; mostly regs to Eregs and INT21h to
INVOKE. All went well, tho it took awhile. However, I did have to
.NOLIST all of the .inc's & give up XREFs, else my .LST file was
absurdly huge! Is there an SXREF, a la IBM; that is, only show the
label only if it's referenced?

Next, I used the new linker. Again, all went well, tho I got
msgLNK4033/COFF.

Finally, I used the new assembler. No source had to change here.
Tho all SEEMED to go well, I found that, when testing with WinDbg,
all of my labels in the .DATA section were no longer recognized by
the View/Memory window and I had to use hard addresses to see them.

After trying a few things, I found that, if I added the "/coff"
operand to the new assembler, WinDbg was once again able to see my
labels by name.

Is this a requirement of the new assembler? MASM611 worked fine.
I did not notice any warning messages anywhere indicating that my
labels would be lost. There doesn't seem to be any other issues;
all my programs run as expected. The .exe sizes are about the same.
Are there any ramifications when using this? Are there any other
significant items I should know/consider when converting? I converted
because I'm not sure if MASM611 would function on Win8 if 16bit is
eliminated, and I'm not about to lose all of my programs if true!

hutch--