Message to All Guests
NB: Posting URL's See here: Posted URL Change

Main Menu

Like to have a compiler & linker memory map from Visual Studio 2010

Started by BenPrice, January 19, 2014, 11:17:19 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

BenPrice

Hello there,

I was an assembler programmer for a few years around 1970, using machines like a PDP-8, PDP-11, IBM-1401, etc. It's been 40 years since I've done any assembler (or much programming) and I am now taking a course in University on IBM x86 assembler. I'm using Visual Studio 2010 (new to me) as my programming environment. I'd like to get a memory map out of the compile step, as well as a link map from the linker. I've briefly looked at some of the options in Visual Studio and I thought I had the memory map turned on, but apparently not. Can someone either point me to a YouTube video, or other instructional media that can help me configure Visual Studio to produce the maps? Thanks in advance. Ben Price - San Antonio

jj2007

> Visual Studio 2010 (new to me)

Hi Ben,

If you just started with VS, you still have a chance: Put that behemoth into a corner!

For Assembler, \Masm32\qeditor.exe is more than enough. Under the Project menu, you'll find a number of options how to translate your sources into executables. You can add your own batch file there, see \Masm32\menus.ini

Run \Masm32\bin\link.exe with /? to see the linker options, e.g. /MAP

More in this two-pager: Masm32: What you absolutely must know to get started

Welcome to the Forum :icon14:

BenPrice

Hello jj2007,