News:

Masm32 SDK description, downloads and other helpful links
Message to All Guests

Main Menu

What is an offset in assembly language?

Started by RedSkeleton007, June 25, 2015, 08:55:13 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

RedSkeleton007

Hi everyone, this is my first post. I'm not bad at programming with C++, but I'm new to assembly language. I'm working my way through my assembly language text book this summer, but so far it feels like I'm not fully grasping the concepts that my text book expects me to, which is not good because I've seen the word "offset" come up quite often in the book so far. The following is a passage from chapter 3:

ListSize must follow immediately after list. The following code, for example, produces too large a value (24) for ListSize because the storage used by var2 affects the distance between the current location counter and the offset of list:

list BYTE 10,20,30,40 ;line 1
var2 BYTE 20 DUP(?) ;line 2
ListSize = ($ - list) ;line 3

Where the heck does 24 come from in those 3 lines of code?

Is the distance disrupted because line 3 needed to come right after line 1 instead of line 2?

Also, I know that the $ sign refers to the current location counter, but what is meant by "distance between the current location counter and the offset of list"? For this example, is $ supposed to point to the element at the end of the list? If so, I would assume that "($ - list)" would result in 0, but that can't be right.

Finally, what is meant by "the offset of list"?

rrr314159

The offset of the list is essentially the address of the list. There are some details involved with where list is offset from, but you don't need to care about that; although someone else will undoubtedly tell you all about it.

Yes, line 3 must come right after line 1.