Masm32 SDK description, downloads and other helpful links
Message to All Guests

Main Menu

"Hello masm32", not a BOT, new member

Started by LordAdef, January 22, 2017, 09:42:24 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

LordAdef

Hello everyone,

Please allow me to introduce myself and tell why and how I am here today.

.me
  I´m Alex (LordAdef is an old avatar I can´t get rid of...it´s my Macro  :greensml:). I´m Brazilian and am 45. I am a music composer and music producer. As everyone around my age, I started programming BASIC, qBASIC etc.... Afterwards I had some quick experience with C. I quit programming when classical music came in and took all my time. Then it came Bachelor Degree and Masters Degree. After things got quieter, the addiction hit me back and I made several programs in a language called Lingo (native of the former Macromedia Director). It was crap, but I had some fun.

So, as an introduction, I´m not a professional and not a student under supervision, I´m only brave :D

.why?
Recently, addiction hit me again... I need to bloody program!! I need to bloody program!!
Options for serious stuff, not toys, were down to:
  C++  -> absolutely not
  C or Assembly  -> ?????????

C came out being the one... thousands of links tutorials, videos in youtube and so forth..
  Assembly was once again left behind

.Then
  VStudio is free, soon I finished a quite nice game prototype all in pure C, using the SDL libs. Great!!!
  Meanwhile, I couldn´t resist and was reading all I could find about asm on the internet. Believe me, I know all the tuts in youtube. I read a couple of books either.

.aFeedback
  Asm is not "Not for the faint of heart" (now a legendary line for me)... finding your way around it today without supervision IS...

I would love if some of you top guys could someday write a "Get started"... Assembly deserve a complete and up to date one. For me was like coming into a jungle... it still is!!!

.foundYou