Masm32 SDK description, downloads and other helpful links
Message to All Guests

Main Menu

Game Engine as personal project!

Started by DebugBSD, May 16, 2018, 07:25:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DebugBSD

Hi, good morning!

This is my first post here at the Forum, so let me instroduce myself before continue. I'm Guillermo (or Guille). I've been working with C and C++ for over 13 years but overall, the language which I like most is and has been Assembly Language. I learn't Assembly about 5 years ago, and I feel very confident using it. Unfortunately, I can't use it on may day-to-day job, but, I use it every day at home and I wish I could use it in my job too but I can't because of project requirements.

I'm working on a personal project which will be made in Assembly Language on Windows platform and maybe on OpenBSD most probably in the future (cause I use it as Descktop OS). The thing is, I'd like to know about resources to get into game development. Maybe books, or web, etc... I mean, resources to begin started with Game Development because I have no idea where to begin and if that includes Assembly Language, much better.

Thanks for everything.
Guille
Happy Hacking!

Siekmanski

Hi DebugBSD,

Welcome to the forum.  :t

There are many ways to write games, GDI, GDI+, OpenGl, DirectX.
A start could be downloading the DirectX SDK and explore the many examples and translate them to ASM.

Marinus
Creative coders use backward thinking techniques as a strategy.

DebugBSD

Hi Siekmanski,

First of all thanks for your reply. I though some time ago and I concluded that I'll use OpenGL because this library is supported by Windows and UNIX-Like Operating Systems. Although the engine will be made in Windows, I'll port to OpenBSD on the future so, I think is better to begin with OpenGL. Anyway I'll start with DirectX SDL just to learn something useful.